Motivation logo

“Oh! Your 25 Years Old And Haven’t Figured Your Life Out?”

Stop Letting People Confine You In The Prison Of Time

By Frederick EmersonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
“Oh! Your 25 Years Old And Haven’t Figured Your Life Out?”
Photo by Lukas Blazek on Unsplash

“You succeed in life when you succeed in life.”

I had an interesting conversation with this guy I met in a hostel last month while traveling throughout the States.

He was an older gentleman, a decade and a few years my senior, and we were talking about life, goals, and accomplishments.

And then the question arose, which seems to be a question that everyone is always asking me — “How old are you?”

Now, I am not ashamed of my age. I think I have accomplished a lot, and I know I can continue to accomplish more.

But I find it irritating when people ask me this?

You live life when you live life.

“Why is my age relevant to the conversation we are having,” I asked him?

And he said, “I want to see where I compare to you in life because you seem so accomplished, and you look younger than I am. I feel like I haven't accomplished as much as I could have, and I am already 43 years old.”

I told him “thanks, but I wasn't going to answer the question because,” as I told him, “You live life when you live life.”

I think this idea of trying to accomplish as much as you can at the age of 25 is very stressful for many people.

Not saying it is not possible, nor ignoble.

But, for many people, there is a massive level of stress and anxiety that comes with trying to have YOUR LIFE all set in stone at the age of 25.

25 is when your brain is almost fully mature!

And to demand of people, at this age, so much causes a lot of depression in people.

If you aren’t married at 25, something must be wrong with you.

If you don't have a steady career at 25, then something is wrong with you.

If you don't have kids at 25, then you just are never going to have kids.

If you haven't become a SUPER MEGA success at 25, you will always remain a failure in life.

This mindset is not the least bit unique to western societies. I have traveled the world for the past ten years, and this mindset is in every nation.

I know for women, the need to settle down in their 20s is almost a MUST as women have a ticking clock.

Sadly, most guys are not into women in their 30s, but that is not to say there aren’t some guys who aren’t.

I think the idea that society has so thoroughly crammed down the throats of people, that “you must be a success by 25 or you will forever remain a failure in life,” is what causes so many people to develop anxiety, depression, high levels of insecurity, and a comparative mindset.

And I say this…

You succeed in life when you succeed at it. You live life when you live life. Your dreams life will come when it comes.

Life is not a race; it is a marathon.

By sporlab on Unsplash

And as long as you keep moving forward, keep on trekking ahead, keep on pushing onward to the finish line, you will be successful.

No matter how old you think you are, you are but a child relative to the universe.

We all have our own experiences that shape why we are where we are.

Not all of us learn about the cruelty of the world. Not all of us learn how to make the best financial decisions.

Not all of us learn how to know who is right for us.

These are skills that many of us never learn and can cause us to lose so much out of life.

We lose so much time.

But the more time we sit there ruminating about the time we lost, we lose the time we have in front of us.

It is okay if you haven’t started that family in your 20s yet.

It is okay if you are not a millionaire at whatever age you set.

It is okay if you haven’t had sex yet and you are in your 20s or 30s.

It is okay if you haven't been able to land a steady job.

What is not okay is using the time you have right now PITYING YOURSELF when you have every opportunity to improve yourself and work to get the life you want.

As long as you have breath in your lungs, it is never too late to live the life that you want.

Have the courage to change your life for the better.

Have the courage to keep growing as a person.

You live life when you live life.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Frederick Emerson

I am Frederick Emerson, a prolific blogger with a decade of experience in the digital sphere. Through my thought-provoking content, I have captivated readers and sparked engaging conversations on a wide range of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.