Motivation logo

Nobody Listens

by Diamond D

By Diamond DPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
10
Nobody Listens
Photo by Elijah Macleod on Unsplash

My name is Diamond D. I am 29 years old tomorrow, but I look and feel like I’m younger. This has been my problem for years. People tend to think that I am young and dumb. It's kind of sad really that every single person on earth reads people by their appearance. I have studied for years different interactions with different people based on just changing my appearance. I either put on my blue contact lenses, putting makeup, not putting makeup, baggy clothes, tight clothes, more exposed, less exposed, blonde hair, dark hair, blue hair. To the point that if any of my middle school friends ran into me, I'd remember them, but they wouldn’t remember me because I just look different every few months. It’s no one’s fault but my own, but it makes me think about all the women in this world who must uphold a certain appearance based on our jobs or everyday occurrences. Women and men are expected to act or dress a certain way to look competent. You could have possibly given homeless person money or food thinking they are homeless but, could be scamming you. Little do you know that “homeless” man/woman lives in this bigger house than yours. Don’t get me started with the way you speak and your tone of voice. These days, can we really be ourselves?

I have been put in a million and one situations in my life that I had to conform to a certain dress code. I had a uniform in grade school (Catholic school life). Once I reached high school, I went to public school and boy did my life go upside down. In Catholic school, you are not allowed to dress or even act a certain way, or else you would risk being suspended or even expelled depending on the situation. So, going from that to a place where everyone pretty much knows how to dress every day because they’ve “been there” already with getting bullied, I had to learn how to dress and act like myself. I didn’t know who I was at that time. I hung out with various types of groups and people. At least two or more people from each group knew me. I always did crazy things with my hair and clothes. I never found the confidence. I never found my true self. I had so many experiences with switching schools often in my earlier grades. I was constantly put in situations where I had to find new friends or be a certain way to conform to others around me. It’s no one’s fault that was just my life and it was a journey. I met different people of different backgrounds. Growing up in LA is a blessing and a curse at the same time. I went to Burbank High School for 2 years and I spent 2 years of my life in Dallas, Texas. Moving out of my hometown at a young age and put in a different state let alone a city really made me conform even more. Getting to know more people. Studying more people. Being in places and looked at as if I am a certain race that I’m not. Always being mistaken for being young and inexperienced all because I look and dress younger than my age.

It took me having a son to really show people I am a grown-up. That was hard as hell. I get hushed so much and just talked over just because I “look” inexperienced. I am here to tell all of you that it is ok to be different. It is ok to act and dress however you want. It is ok to be dynamic and be friends with people who aren’t your own race or culture. What is not ok is being in a place of judgment based on the color of your skin or the clothes on your back. Throughout this whole experience called “Life”, l learned that no matter what always be who you are most comfortable being. If you’re comfortable with being a boss bee, be a boss bee!! If you’re more comfortable with a different group of people, go hang out with them! But don’t forget that too much comfort Is dangerous too. Do not underestimate each other! We all had a crazy life! When someone speaks, hear them out!!! Most importantly, love who you are becoming daily. Even on your worst days ever, you are learning and growing. That is beautiful! It took me years to learn to enjoy the beauty in everything good or bad.

happiness
10

About the Creator

Diamond D

Hey readers!

I’m so excited that you found my page! This has been something I’ve always wanted and this is now the time for me to speak up! 💎💕

If you cause any drama in my life or anyone’s life on my profile, I will block and report you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.