Motivation logo

New Year's Resolutions

It's okay to start now.

By RMcKittrickPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

Feb. 15, 2019: New Years Resolutions... This is something that's been on my mind for some time now. I have an issue when it comes to setting goals and actually keeping them, especially when I don't see immediate results. I am impatient, so often times when I am unable to see the progress I've been making I get discouraged and will eventually give up.

My problems, as I realize it, is I make long terms goals expecting results right away. As I process my faults in this, I realize my own mistake. I make these goals without making smaller, attainable goals.

It's already mid-February and one of my resolutions was to lose weight. When I'm home on an off day I have plenty of chances to do some form of exercise, but do I work out? No. Why? Unsure of what to do? Laziness? It's my day off and I deserve a rest, right? But when it comes to one's weight and health, working out needs to become routine, like eating healthier meals and snacks throughout the day. How long does it take to do some crunches, pushups, maybe some jumping jacks? 10-30 minutes depending on how much you can do? There are people who will spend hours working out, and that's fine. It keeps them fit, healthy, and that's their addiction. My addiction is sugar ... Lots of it! And my downfall has already happened as I spiral down into a sweet, sugary spiral.

My long term goal for 2019 is to lose weight. My short term goals, however, are undefined. In fact, they weren't even in existence! I didn't think about my short term goals, and if I did I thought I wouldn't have time to do accomplish them. With my sugar addiction, how can I lose weight and still enjoy the sugar I crave? Do I stop sugar altogether? Do I limit my sugar? If so, how?

I read a short article from Psychology Today, written by Shainna Ali Ph.D., LMHC. The article is titled, Why New Years Resolutions Fail. She touches on four points about why resolutions often fail:

  1. Unclear goals.
  2. The feeling of being overwhelmed.
  3. Feeling discouraged, and finally,
  4. Not being ready to change.

We all face these challenges when trying to accomplish goals that are important to us. As I was reading this article a few things stood out to me. One being what she said about feeling overwhelmed, "Even if you do know where the journey starts, looking at the long road ahead may cause you to feel as though it’s too much, too soon. These factors may cause you to quit before you even start."

I get this feeling quite often when I make goals, I start feeling like maybe there's no chance I'll accomplish them. I even make excuses that life got in the way.Life happens, we succeed and we fail some. However, when working on a goal that is important to you, it's important to remember them always and to work towards them. So how do you overcome the overwhelming feeling of looking down a long road that seems to never end? By making your goals smaller, and more attainable.

An example, assuming I am 230 pounds, with a long-term goal to lose 50 pounds in 2019 (This will bring me to a healthy weight of 180 pounds), its important for me to lay out a map of how to get there. A fresh, clean diet to start, with an ample amount of walking or jogging, will help jump-start the process. (*Now it is important to realize that you do not want to lose weight too quickly, speaking from experience, it is very easy to gain it all back! So learning to take your time, and to bask in the small accomplishments along the way is key). However, this alone will not be enough for me to lose weight effectively. Cardio is important, and finding the best routines are important here. It also doesn't need to be expensive! Youtube has so many different exercises available that you can do in your own living room no matter where you are in your journey. It needs to become a lifestyle, not just a temporary solution.

Creating a clearer path for your goals will help lessen the overwhelming feeling we get. The road is broken up into doable sections, and the best thing is, it's okay to take your time in each section. With new year resolutions I see several people quitting right away, saying "Maybe next year." Right now. Maybe now? Why is now not as important as January 1? The year isn't over. And sometimes resolutions take time. Maybe it's something that needs to be spread over several years? Like a continuation of a goal. That's fine. What isn't fine is accepting defeat when you didn't even try to begin. You go to the gym once and don't see results, so the most reasonable thing to do is quit? These goals are a learning process just as they are a lifestyle change, and changes are scary!

Are you wanting to make these changes? Are you ready to take that road? It is scary, but I promise you that you'll learn more things about yourself as you embark on a beautiful journey. It's okay to start now. Make these little goals to make your big goals more attainable. Create clear directions, and know that if you get derailed along the way, just get back on it. They say life doesn't wait for anyone, but your train waits for you: the conductor; it's just up to you to get back on and let it take you to where you're wanting to do.

Another one of my goals is to help my environment and to help save our Earth. One of the projects I'm working on is writing about the different pollinators and their importance to our survival along with their declining numbers. I want to know more about them and to help educate people on how pesticides and herbicides are actually quickening our own demise, more than anyone may realize.

This is a long process, and it's one I'm wanting to take. I don't know where this independent project will take me, but I'm excited about the journey. I just need to remember to make smaller goals that will lead me towards my bigger goals. We only have one Earth, and with the pollutions, and plastics, and chemicals we are pumping into it, how long will we last? It takes a village to raise a child, but it'll take all of us to save our one Earth. One question: What are you doing to help your planet?

Reference:

Ali, S. (2019). Why New Year's Resolutions Fail. [online] Psychology Today. Available at: https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/modern-mentality/201812/why-new-years-resolutions-fail [Accessed 16 Feb. 2019].

goals
Like

About the Creator

RMcKittrick

I love art, animals, writing and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.