Motivation logo

New year's resolution

New year, new me.

By Amanda MuellerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
New year's resolution
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

The new year marks the beginning. It is the promise of things to come. January 1st holds the hope and wishes of the upcoming year. This year, I would like to accomplish several things. The biggest thing would be to lose weight. I would also like to maintain a cleaner house. I am hoping to get a job as well. Spending more quality time doing activities with my children is on my list to do this year. Hopefully, I am able to accomplish my resolutions in 2021.

Weight loss is a common resolution. However, after January, most people drop their weight loss regimen. I feel it is very important for me to lose weight. I am at the heaviest I have ever been, and am having a lot of problems because of it. I am a single mom of three kids, and am having a hard time keeping up with them. I also am having a lot of pain in my knees, heels and hips. If I lose the weight, I hope the pain will ease, and I will be able to sleep better and move around with more ease. In order to lose weight I plan on eating better and exercising to the best of my abilities. I have already bought a weight to begin lifting. I would like to lose and keep off 30 pounds. This is my most important new years resolution.

Another resolution I have is to maintain a cleaner house. I don’t have a hoarding problem or anything, but with three kids, I have a hard time keeping the house clean. My one year old daughter, Willow, likes to throw toys around the house. She learned this from her 4 year old brother, Elijah. Just this morning they were throwing stuff down our stairs. In order to accomplish this, I plan on getting a rewards system in place for the kids so they will be more willing to help me clean. I would like to have the house cleaned by the end of the month and hope to do my best to keep it clean the rest of the year. Not sure if this will happen because kids will be kids. This is one of my weaker planned resolutions.

I just recently got my bachelor’s degree from WMU. My next resolution is to get a well paying job that I would actually enjoy doing. I would really like to work in a lab or with animals that doesn’t involve too much vet type services. I don’t do well with death and gore. My dream job would be working as a hippotherapist or as a marine biologist, but that would require more schooling. I would like to get a well paying job that I could save money to buy a house.

By getting a job, I could afford to do more activities with my kids. I spend time with them now, however I would like it to be more quality time and not just sitting around the house. I would like to take them to museums, theme parks, waterparks, the works. I would love to take them to Mackinaw Island (in Michigan) to see the horse drawn carriages and the butterfly house. I have visited there several times and loved it. And of course to get the infamous Mackinaw Island fudge. I would also like to take them to the Soo Locks in northern Michigan. I went there in the 5th grade with my parents and did an art project on it and even won a prize for it. I hope to get my resolutions done before the end of the year.

These have been my resolutions. I have never been very good at resolutions, but I have a new mindset after escaping an abusive relationship. I am now more comfortable with myself and feel like I could take on these few tasks.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.