Motivation logo

New Year, New...?

What are resolutions anyway?

By C. L. HendersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
New Year, New...?
Photo by @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

When I was younger, I never really understood the point of New Year's resolutions. I mean sure, I understood the general concept but in practice, it seemed that time and time again it was always the same: adults making big plans and not following through on a single one of them. On the back end of these resolutions, I also saw a lot of bitterness, regret, and shame.

Then it finally hit me: New Year's resolutions were never about the goals themselves, it was all about hope. It's safe to assume that the longer something goes without working the more we will assume it will never work, right? Well, one could say that we approach our goals and resolutions in the same way. We try to plan our resolutions the same way we were taught to plan goals, by getting specific and giving ourselves a set time frame. As time passes and we don't get the results we feel we should, our hope begins to fade and we give up.

So what is my resolution this year? It's simple. I'm removing the limits.

I know that we are taught this notion growing up that our goals have to have a set deadline and quantifiable results, but does it really matter in the grand scheme of things if you don't own a house by thirty? The honest truth is: it doesn't and not only that but no one cares that you didn't reach that goal other than you. We set so many goals out of the fear of being perceived a certain way by others, but what goals do we actually set for our inner selves?

Instead of choosing resolutions like, "I will weigh x amount by x date", this year I'm choosing to be a little more fluid. Resolutions like, "I will constantly maintain the search for inner peace" or "I will consistently find ways to make myself smile" are more my style. Or "I will do what I can each day to take care of my body" and "I will seek new, fun ways to exercise". Best of all, they don't bear the burden of guilt and shame if I have an off day and don't work towards my goals.

Twenty-twenty was an amazing teacher in so many different lessons but the one thing I took away more than anything else was what truly matters. Resolutions, goals, and deadlines exist but they don't have to rule our entire world. You don't need to feel guilt for not accomplishing something you set out to do within a certain time frame. Progress is progress and as long as you are always growing and moving forward all you need a New Year for is the chance to buy a new calendar.

There is no "new year, new you". You will always be you and living comfortably in your own skin is something that we all have to come to terms with at some point or another in our lives. This is not to say that you can't reinvent yourself, because you can! You just don't have to wait for a New Year to do it. Our standard of New Year's celebrations actually stems from ancient Babylon origins in which "New Year's" meant the spring equinox and festivities were held on what would have been March first. It wasn't until Julius Caesar that January first was designated as New Year's. I say all this just to demonstrate that you don't need a new year or matching ones on the calendar for new resolutions or to become a new version of yourself. You are free to change whenever you see fit.

Join me in taking on some limitless resolutions and watch your life blossom.

goals
Like

About the Creator

C. L. Henderson

Aspiring writer creating new stories every week.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.