Motivation logo

New Year, 2021

New Year, not so New me...Welcome 2021

By Shasta ScottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
New Year, 2021
Photo by Cristian Escobar on Unsplash

The end of 2020 brought no better news than the beginning. COVID-19 changed the lives of people around the globe. I myself, still have trouble figuring out what I just went through this last year. I was fortunate enough to keep my job, although I did lose income. I lost my vehicle and had to put payments on hold I was hoping to get resolved.

2021 brings hope that the new year always does, the chance to start over, try something new like reaching out to join the army, or doing something that has worked for me in the past like a juice cleanse, just to rejuvenate my insides.

It is only the first month into the new year and I feel like I've done so much. I have done the juice cleanse I mentioned previously, from a brand called Juice from the Raw. You can choose between 3, 5, and 7 days, and they offer different wellness shots. I chose the 3 day cleanse purely based on finances, I would love to try 5 or 7 days. They send you 6 different juices for each day for a total of 18 juices. I chose this cleanse because I had tried it for the first time 3 years ago, when I officially moved back to Texas and although the results are not drastic, I lost 3lbs in 3 days, still ate 1 meal a day, felt better, and didn't have an upset stomach or feeling of pooping every 5 minutes (sorry for that but it's true).

By Monika Grabkowska on Unsplash

I have quit my job at the grocery store Bakery, to pursue enlisting in the army. I have been over-weight for most of my life, which made joining sooner more difficult. However, joining the army has always been on my mind and in my heart to do. My grandfather served in World War 2 and I grew up with friends and boyfriends whose fathers had served, so it seems natural to me, to have this desire to be a part of something that has always been part of me, whether I knew it or not.

If I can serve those who came before us and help those who are serving now, that is what I would like to do. Give people their direction and aid them however I can.

The last several years has been me taking the necessary steps to getting to my weight goal and trying to find joy and happiness in what I do. It's been a battle of finding diets that work for me and my body and my lifestyle. Turning those diets into habits and a lifestyle and utilizing articles and videos and recipes on how to change your life. Understanding the world around me after 2020 just happened seems like an impossible feat to attempt. I've had years where I set many goals for myself and other years where I don't even think about what's next or where I am going just that I am doing.

If I could do anything or get anything from 2021 it would be the clarity that I am making the right decisions, that I am moving in the right direction with my life, to be honest and open about happiness and hurtfulness, to push people who care about me away less, to spend more time on relationships.

I want to meet my husband this year, even if I don't know it's him and I hope it's not a love at first site thing. I want my best friend back in my life and to wake up each morning feeling like I am changing into the best version of myself, that I care for myself and others.

I hope and need 2021 to be a year of good things not just for myself but for my community.

By Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.