Motivation logo

New Me 2021

My Road To A Brand New Me

By Leandra CzechPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This is me. Now. Before the whole World went crazy, with the COVID, riots, looting, and just total unsettlement, I was on my way to losing 125 pounds of fat body. Then, it all went to hell in a hand basket. Did I give up? Sort of...okay, yeah. I let my depression smack me around until yesterday!

I am a United States Army and Navy Veteran and damn proud of it, and a participant of TeleMOVE at Hines VA Hospital. This is a great program but it's not enough to motivate me into getting rid of my...…excess baggage. I needed a major kick in the rump roast to shake off the depression and realize that I CAN lose this weight after all! After weighing in at 264 pounds yesterday morning, I wallowed in my sorrow until my amazing husband, Michael, told me that I can do this! I then thought, "He's right! I CAN DO IT!"

Today, starts my new way of thinking as far as weight loss is concerned. I have an upper back surgery coming up in February or March, and I shall lose at least 10 pounds before it happens through exercising, and excellent healthy food choices! No more excuses....I am READY! My husband said that this is my year. He's right! This IS my year and I'm grabbing it not just by the horns but also the cahonies!

So, now onto my educational and employment side. I've decided to go back to school on a virtual basis and learn something new. I'm taking on Bookkeeping as a new business of my own. I'm tired of being under the thumb of a Boss and putting money in their pockets instead of lining my own! With that being said, I will be taking my classes on Saturdays and Sundays. With my ear buds in, I'll be able to learn at my own pace without being distracted by other noise like my mom's television. Bookkeeping is a new world for me and a new adventure! Considering the small fact that I've never really been a number cruncher before, this should prove to be quite interesting to see how well I do.

On the employment side of Life, I can not wait to start with delivering on my own schedule again, delivering goods to people! I already drive for my mom, who is an Essential Worker, but after I drop her off at her work, I really have nothing else. So, during the day, I can earn 100% tips as well as a small percentage of profits. Yes, I know I said that I'm tired of lining other pockets, but this is only temporary until I get my Bookkeeping business off of the ground. This is another thing that I lost faith in because of lack of proper insurance and a bad auto accident. It wiped out my confidence in myself as far as being a driver because I caused the accident. Even though it was about eight years ago, to this day, it still shakes my confidence a little when I get behind the wheel. On top of that, with one of my kids telling me that I couldn't do delivery because of lack of proper insurance, well, you can see where my self-belief went. But I know that with my new found confidence, I can do this too!

I am so ready to take on the World again, thanks to my wonderful husband, mom, and my kids reminding me that I have not only a huge array of possibilities in front of me, but the ability to accomplish anything I put my heart, mind and soul into!

So, if you are one of those people like me, who is wondering if you can accomplish your dreams, take it from me. Listen to your family, and mostly, to your gut instinct. You can do anything that you put your mind, heart and soul into!

LOOK OUT WORLD! I AM BACK!!!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.