Motivation logo

Negative Thinkers Anonymous

12-Steps for Dispelling Negativity!

By Kabin ThomasPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like
Jump for Joy! Or just lift up a little! :-)

Shipmates, the moment I wake up, I start doing manifesting affirmations. I start stating the sacred I AMs....

I AM happy.

I AM getting healthy.

I AM losing weight.

I AM finally becoming prosperous.

I AM becoming abundant.

I AM loved.

I AM loving myself again.

I AM loving others WITHOUT condition!

I AM forgiving myself for every single error I have made this lifetime.

I AM WORTHY!

I AM ENOUGH!

I say these things constantly. I say them in the bathroom, in the office, on the bed, on the floor, on a towel by the door, in the tub, in the car, up against the mini-bar! (Sorry... I just stole lyrics from someone!) I say them until I feel sick of saying them, then I stop... Until negative thoughts start flooding into my mind... then I start up again.

With the help of my very best friend on this planet, Debbie, I have decided that I am a manifesting generator, and that what I think, I will bring into my life. I just need to point that energy in the right direction.

To be honest, folks, I am no different than anybody else. I believe we are all energy generators. We bring in the energy we project outwards. That can be awesomeness, or that can be crap.

We can be grateful, or we can be skanks. Or we can be grateful skanks. Our call.

Our thoughts are our prayers. Remember that. And we are always praying. We are always bringing the energy flow into our lives.

Our thoughts create feelings, and our feelings are just like electricity. We can run our house on it, or we can stick our tongue on it. Makes no difference to electricity. The electrons of actualization are going to scoot down the path of least resistance. That path is our feelings and those feelings derive from our thoughts. If I am in a terrible mood and keep affirming that indeed, I am in a terrible mood. What in the world do you think happens to me throughout the day? I bring into my world that energy that is terrible. At least that has been what has happened for me pretty much all my life. I best not speak for you, shipmate.

So, let's talk more about MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE, please!!!

When I really think about it, it has been a pretty remarkable life. One of a lot of adventures...

Going to musical heights with my teaching.

Playing many tuba recitals.

Flying in helicopters.

Playing with a major symphony orchestra...

Performing Shakespeare...

International Game Show Host...

And other stuff...

However, I have lived the life of a fraud! I have not been happy with my life, because I constantly compared my life to others “more successful” than myself, and I have even loathed my day to day existence. I am a Silly Billy!

I hated myself. I hated my body! I hated everything about who I was. I liked my man boobs... a little. But other than that, pure self-hate!

I never felt I was enough. I believe I had no self acceptance because I was not willing to look deeper into who I was and am. Meaning, I wasn't willing to do the work to figure out my purpose during this lifetime. I felt everyday I was a loser! Plus, I was horny, which makes matters even worse. Of course, nobody wanted to spend time with me, and if I found someone who might, I freaked right out and could not handle it! Isn't that sad?

Only recently have I realized that "Thoughts Become Things." I attract what I think about and emotionally connect to. To think is to blueprint, and to blueprint is to create.

Thoughts become things.

If I visualize it, and feel it to be true, then something is probably going to happen. Take my writing this chummy little tome, for instance. And if I implement an upbeat type of thinking into my life, things have been changing for the upbeat. Look at my situation right now. My goodness, shipmates, I have been granted a moment of Grace, because I have visualized and felt this writing taking place! I have been granted this moment, and I am convinced it is because I am improving my attitude.

As many of you know, I am an alcoholic, with all sorts of addictive and obsessive behaviors. Addicts and obsessives possess an incredible amount of energy to implement addictive and obsessive behavior. The trick is taking that powerful energy and directing it. I have decided to replace my addiction to negative thinking, and replace it with much more uplifting thoughts. As a member of AA, I have to say that none of this would have happened without the constant love, support, and guidance of Debbie K, The Rooms of AA, Will G, my Sponsor, and of course, working the Steps. All of these influences have helped me understand these principles:

  1. Our thoughts are prayers, and we are always praying.
  2. Thoughts combined with feelings become things.
  3. Feelings, obsessions, and addictions contain amazing amounts of energy. Take that energy and re-direct it into focus and good.
  4. Ignited jet fuel does not melt steel girders. (But I digress...)

I believe I have created a 12-Step Program that helps refocus those of us addicted to thinking negatively... Me included, as it is a lifelong process for those "Negaholics." Something that we could practice daily.  Something that, just like AA, we use as we Trudge the Road of Happy Destiny to better ourselves just One Day At A Time.

And so, I'd like to present to you the very first draft of the new association called “Negative Thinkers Anonymous.” Totally and completely stolen and adapted from the 12 Steps of AA.

THE TWELVE STEPS OF NEGATIVE THINKERS ANONYMOUS

  1. I admit I had become powerless over my Negative Thinking and that my life had become unhappy and unfulfilled.
  2. I have come to believe that a Higher Consciousness can create a Better Way of Thinking that can restore me to sanity.
  3. I make a decision to surrender to my Higher Consciousness, and I understand that I attract what I think about. (Thoughts-Become-Things.)
  4. I make a searching and fearless moral inventory of those things that make me negative.
  5. I admit to my Higher Consciousness, myself, and to another human being the exact nature of my negativity.
  6. I have become ready to manifest positive, affirming thoughts, from the moment I wake up until I go to bed, everyday.
  7. I say “I AM _________” and insert a positive, affirming thought, the moment a negative thought appears.
  8. I make a list of those people, places, and things I am regularly negative about.
  9. I ask those people, places, and things for their forgiveness for my negativity toward them, either in person, or in thought, and then, let go.
  10. I maintain a daily Gratefulness Journal, and place at least one thing in that Journal every day, and share that gratefulness with others.
  11. I seek through prayer or meditation to improve my conscious contact with my Higher Consciousness and manifest positive, loving thoughts toward our-selves and others.
  12. I carry this message by example to other Negative Thinkers, and practice these principles in all my affairs. 

Try it. Let me know what you think.

See you next time.

Love you, shipmate.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.