Motivation logo

My top 5 ways to make the most out of ‘Me Time’

Because you’re never too old to play

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
9

Let's face it, getting time truly to yourself is rare and precious once you become a parent. When I say truly to yourself, I don't mean getting the opportunity to plow through the housework without a tiny person following behind you, or getting to browse the shelves at the supermarket on your own while doing the groceries.

These are chores. Not a luxury because you are doing them alone.

No, I'm talking about time when you get to do what you actually want to do. Those things that are just for you, that would make no sense to anyone else, but make you feel 100% human again when you get to do them.

It's drummed into us how important play is for our children. We look back on our childhood and remember our play with so much fondness. Why does it sit somewhere in a memory? Who said just because we are now grown up that we have to stop playing?

Imaginative play was my absolute jam as a kid. The worlds and wonders I would make up in my head could keep me entertained for hours. I still crave the feeling of escape that I would so often have as a child. There's a reason it's called play and it makes the best memories. Because it is so damn fun. The people who are thriving in life play all day. They've managed to make their reality the ultimate game.

That's the dream. But for most of us, we have to settle for maximising our little snippets of play time. I find that being absolutely intentional with how I spend my alone time and prioritising play helps to keep me motivated and let's face it, sane.

Here’s my top 5.

1. Reading extremely lame and trashy supernatural romance novels. Vampires and werewolves anyone? Yes please. When i'm feeling full to the brim from all the things that are going through my head that I need to do, this is a sure fire way to make my head miles stop in their tracks. Sure I could pretend that if I have some time to read that I would spend it reading something uplifting or inspiring. But I don't. I read trash. Utter and complete trash. And I. Love. It.

2. Turning the music up to max volume and holding a living room concert. I don't care if I'm 30 and a mum, I will happily scream my living room down to my imaginary stadium of adoring fans. This is a guaranteed way to quickly let off some steam. I mean, Taylor Swift actually exists to help us release a little inner angst, right? Max volume required.

3. Solo Dance Party. As above. Plus it's exercise, and way more fun than the gym. So why not? It's so important to play. Look how much joy it brings our little ones.

4. Mindlessly scrolling social media with a glass of Wine. Who doesn't do this one though? So I wasted an hour on Facebook or Instagram? I used to waste a lot more time then that and never felt guilty about it once before becoming a parent. Why does the wine make a difference? It's a bit like when you have a glass of wine after a long day at work. You don't drink at work, so pouring that glass is solid confirmation that you are off the clock. Same goes.

5. Writing. Blogs, articles, how to’s, short stories, poems... you name it and I’ll write it. I could writing as play because it’s a genuine hobby and something I need actual alone time to be able to do. And there isn’t anything more satisfying that finishing a piece that’s been keeping me up at night!

So, If it's been way too long since you've done something from your top 5, make some time for yourself. This is your official reminder and permission to go play!

Sincerely,

A Mum who knows 🍷

happiness
9

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.