Motivation logo

My Favorite Quotes

The quotes that remind my soul to stay resilient

By Ariana Yeager Published 2 years ago 6 min read
2
My Favorite Quotes
Photo by 鏡飛 匙 on Unsplash

Quotes have always been a major part of my life. When I was younger I would spend hours on google images just reading quotes. They were usually inspirational, motivating, thought-provoking quotes. I would search all kinds. I would save them to whatever device I was on. I don't know why this hobby of mine started, but I've always been fascinated by how people can come up with a short blurb that has potential to change your perspective on life.

As I got older I created a new note in my phone for quotes. I could be anywhere, and if I heard a quote I liked, I would add it to the note in my phone. I have a very long running list now, of quotes I've gotten from books, shows/movies, the internet, friends/family, and other random places. I hope the quotes I share in this list connect with you and maybe you'll even take some from this to remember and reflect back on. Also I've done my best in my notes to give credit where it's due. I always try to get the name of who created the quote but sometimes I just find a random one. This list will be some of my favorite quotes, that I want to share so that their influence could maybe help someone else too. And how I interpret them could be totally different from you, which is fine! Quotes can have a different meaning for everyone. I'm just excited to be able to share these ones with you.

1. "Still, I rise."

I'm not exactly sure where I found this one. To be honest I think I may have just thought of this one on my own. But for some reason this one really sticks with me. I enjoy its simplicity, but yet powerful meaning. What I take away, is that despite whatever happens I still get back up. "Still" represents the after of whatever has happened and the word rise almost makes it seem like instead if just getting back up, you are conquering.

2. "If you knew you couldn't play tomorrow, how hard would you play today?"

I found this quote on a restaurant wall and I was immediately drawn to it. I just like that it's a good reminder to stay motivated with whatever you are doing today and to work your hardest and best at it, in case it's your last chance.

3. "Sometimes it's good to visit the past to see where you are now but it's not good to stay there." - Ali Mills (from Cobra Kai)

I like this one because it lets us know that it's okay to reflect on our past to see how far we've come, to see what we have gotten through, and to remind us that we've made it through days that we thought were our darkest. However, while it's okay to reflect, you wouldn't want to get stuck there and then not be able to be in the present, to appreciate the moments you're having now, whether they're a lesson or a blessing.

4. "Don't say why me, say try me."

I really like this one. I found this one on the wall of the YMCA in my hometown. I tell people this one a lot and I reference it a lot. This one really connected with me because honestly I am a person to be like "why is this happening to me" and "why me". But this quote changes that mindset. It seems silly, but to me "try me" just seems badass. And the thought of telling life to "try me" makes me feel powerful. It's hard to explain but I just really, really like this one.

5. "Do one thing everyday that scares you."

This one is on the cover of a notebook that was gifted to me. I know that it seems like it'd be hard to do something everyday that scares you but it can be something small. I usually use this quote for, not things that scare me but things that make me anxious. It just reminds us to keep conquering our fears, and we feel a sense of achievement after doing something that we were nervous or scared to do. This quote is a reminder to keep working on yourself and your growth.

6. "Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being excited for what could go right."

This one I just found in my notes, but this quote encourages a mindset change. People normally worry about how a situation can go wrong and they usually only consider the bad side of what could happen. Not often do people consider the possibly of something working out. So while I also am not one to get my hopes up, it's nice to think about maybe being excited that a certain situation could go right. You can be realistic and excited at the same time. What if it really does work out?

7. "You can't fix someone who doesn't want to be fixed, but you can ruin your life trying."

Another quote found in my notes. I am a people pleaser and I try to save everyone I can but at some point there is only so much you can do and that person has to take the final leap in their mind to get better. That is something that can't be forced. This quote serves as a reminder for me that there comes a point where I'm only hurting myself and at the same time still not being able to fully save someone. This quote helps me with the guilt of not being able to fix someone and to not let myself drown trying in vain when it comes to that certain point.

8. "When life knocks you down, calmly get back up, and very politely say, you hit like a b*tch."

This one was found on the internet, and I thought it was lighthearted with a good meaning though. It just reminds me that I can get through what life throws at me and that if I made it through certain situations I can get through others. It also reminds me to not get worked up, and to stay calm and process what happened as I rise again. This is another quote that just kind of feels badass to me, if that makes sense.

9. "Never measure your success using someone else's ruler."

Another one found in my notes. A very powerful statement for a short sentence. This made me think that we are all on our own timelines. Everyone is, and because of that, success will be very different for everyone. Also the definition of success for everyone is different as well. Your successes shouldn't have to be other's expectations either. You define your own success, and measure it with your ruler.

10. "If you can't beat the fear, do it scared."

No one likes being scared, or doing things that are scary to them but I like that this quote lends to the idea that the fear may always be there. You may feel it the whole time. But despite that fear you can do whatever it is you're trying to do. I kind of like that though. "Do it scared". I believe that would be courageous, being able to do something that scares you and the whole time you had to do it, you did it with fear. I'm sure most wouldn't be able to, as fear is often overpowering but if you do it with fear, I think that makes you just as incredible if not more so.

Thank you for taking the time to read. I hope you found some quotes that rang true to you and ones you were able to relate to.

quotes
2

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.