Motivation logo

My Ever Going Quest to Become a Better Writer

From writing as I go along to actually having a plan

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
11
My Ever Going Quest to Become a Better Writer
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

I’ve changed quite a bit as a writer in a good way, I think. Before, I was very much spontaneous with my writing and well, part of me still is, actually.

As a spontaneous writer, I would first search for a mere idea and just write, write, write all inspired by that idea. When writing a story, I had no plan of attack. I’d just grab a pen and run! Whatever popped into my mind, I’d write it down as I followed my story along this unknown path having no idea how it would end because, well, I didn’t.

Just writing as I went along got me absolutely nowhere. Since I really had no plan, just a vague plot, it was rather difficult to conclude my story. In other words, it seemed that my story just went on and on.

Just at the beginning of this summer when I really took my project of writing a hope to be novel seriously, I came to the realization that I needed to have a much more efficient plan of attack if I was going to successfully write this book.

My writing journal I always have with me

To help me be successful, I tried something new that I've never done before. I started keeping a journal. In it, I would record all of my ideas for my story. Deciding to keep a journal was probably one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It really has helped me to be more focused on my writing. I think this is most likely because with writing in a notebook, I’m not as easily distracted. It also helps that I enjoy writing with a pen and paper.

In my rather simple looking journal, I record my characters and their character profiles. I have a section for my protagonist, antagonist, and any supporting characters.

I plan out a general plotline of events that happen in order throughout the story. Of course, some events have shifted and have even been eliminated as my story takes shape. It's kind of cool watching my story unfold. I didn't plan on this event happening. Or maybe this event happened instead and it actually works out better. Recording my plan of the events of my story has been especially helpful. It gives me structure as I write my story.

I even have a few sketches of some of the science fiction devices that I’ve used including a teleportation device, an invisibility device, and a telepathy device. Even though these are just quick sketches, just envisioning these devices and sketching them out has helped bring these devices and in turn, my story to life.

Whenever I have an idea, no matter what it is, I am sure to record it in my notebook. I’ve learned that ideas can suddenly vanish as suddenly as they’ve appeared. Better write that idea down before I forget!

Even though my writing has become more structured, I still consider myself a spontaneous writer. I guess that’s just the kind of writer that I am. I now keep a notebook. I now have a somewhat detailed plotline of the scenes that will play out in my story. With that being said, I still allow myself plenty of creative freedom. The events that I’ve recorded as a timeline in my notebook act as a guide. As I’m typing out my story on my laptop, if and when I become stuck, I refer back to my notes. I review the scenes I’ve recorded. Ah yes! This is what I have planned next.

Being a more focused and planned writer, I am no longer writing down a story with no end in sight. I now have somewhat of an idea of how my story is going to end. The idea is far from specific mainly because this is only my first draft. A lot can change within my story. The ending I have planned now can change drastically. However, as vague of an idea the ending is, it is still there nonetheless. As I continue to develop my story, I hope my ideal ending becomes more clear.

I am also writing more consistently. Before, I would just write when I felt like it when inspiration decided to reveal itself. But we all know that inspiration doesn’t always find us sitting there with pen and paper or keyboard searching for the right words. If we truly want inspiration, most often, we have to go searching for it. If I wrote only when inspiration came to me, I’d be getting absolutely nowhere.

This is not, by far, the end of my journey to improve as a writer. I am always seeking out and open to ways to improve.

What are some valuable tips you have learned and applied to your writing?

goals
11

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    I suck at planning at process, but I've found I have needed to get a grip on it for chunkier works. Reading how other people do it is so interesting and useful for me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.