Motivation logo

My 5:30 am routine for success

What I have learned from waking up earlier?

By Talara NolanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
My 5:30 am routine for success
Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

Last year, not working, I got into a routine that wasn't that productive for my life. However, at the same time I wasn't doing anything, and so I could wake up whenever to get things done. I would still wake up early. I've always been an early riser naturally. However, I got into a bad habit of scrolling on my phone right away. So I would find myself scrolling for so long right after I would wake up. It's not a good habit to get into. It's also not very productive, and sets up your day to not be very productive.

Then I heard of someone who did a 30-day challenge to wake up at 5:30. I decided to try it. At first, I was waking up early, however I wasn't being very productive. I just didn't feel like I was using that extra time wisely. When my daughter started school, I found it very helpful to be awake that early. Being able to wake up before her, get my thoughts together was very helpful to set up my day. When I returned to work, I knew that it was that much more necessary. I needed that extra time to gather myself, get things ready for the day, and start off on the right foot. I know that how my day starts out sets up the rest of my day. If I start off calm, then I feel like I will have a good day.

I have heard and read of a lot of people saying how to have a productive morning. Things like read in the morning, for example. Things that make me wonder if they have a real job and kids to take care of. I mean, when do people have the time for all of that? That is not what this is. This is a realistic way to have a more productive morning and day. Things that have worked for me, being a single parent who works a full time job.

No checking my phone until I get out of bed. I was finding myself awake, however, I would scroll on my phone. And then suddenly time, so much time, would go by. So then I started a new rule that I can't look at my phone until I get out of bed. It forces me to actually get up.

Structure my morning to make sure it makes sense. I would start my morning by first getting my daughter's breakfast and lunch ready. Then I would work out. Then I would take a shower. I was just finding that I was just stressed trying to rush to make sure that I was ready on time. So I changed up my morning. I get my daughter's breakfast ready. Then I work out. Then, after I take a shower, I get my daughter's lunch ready. By changing it up, I was finding myself less stressed. As I could dry off as I got lunch ready, before I got dressed. So if you find yourself stressed in the morning, change up how you do things. Feeling like you have more time, will make sure that you are less stressed when you start your day.

I meal prep my lunches for the week on the weekend. By having food ready in your fridge, it will make your morning go more smooth. It will also make sure that you don't buy food out just because you didn't have time to make your lunch in the morning. I usually do it on Sundays. I make sure that I make a dish where I can make a lot of it to have leftovers for the week. Such as chili. I also do it for my daughter's lunch as well. My daughter is very picky in what she eats. So I make sure that I make mac and cheese, so that I can have leftovers to use for the week.

Before bed, clean up and do the dishes. That way, you are waking up to a clean house already. It's like starting out your day with a clean slate. And then you don't have to start your day cleaning up from the day before. I always make sure all my dishes are done. What I want to do is try to put my dishes away before I go to bed. I tend to do my dishes late and leave them to dry, so then I have to put them away in the morning. I want to make sure that the dishes are away before I go to bed so that I don't have to put them away in the morning.

Really, it is about finding a system and schedule that works for you. When you start your day off easy with less stress, it sets you up for success. You will be surprised how much it will change your day when you start your morning right. It can change your whole day, and make sure you have a productive day.

-T

how to
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.