Motivation logo

Motivation

How we can all stay motivated to accomplish our goals.

By Michelle ChristianPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Motivation
Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Why do we need motivation?

Motivation. To me, this is one of those words that if you keep saying it, it stops making sense. It seems to lose meaning and becomes less important.

The more I considered types of motivation that would be beneficial to talk about here, I had to ask the question, why is it needed in the first place? Why do some of us struggle with keeping ourselves motivated to practice self care or to accomplish any goal?

And so, just like that, my organized plan for this article has been deleted. Fare thee well, organized thought processes. Hello, Beyond Little Thoughts.

Throughout my research, I found two main obstacles as a cause for lack of motivation in general. The first being the goal is no longer important and the second being a resistance to change. I do not believe either one is really a conscious decision that anyone makes but rather a subconscious push, for varying reasons.

Humor me, please?

Think for a moment how the brain works. Now, I know there is a lot about the brain the experts still don’t quite understand but there is a lot they do know. Our brains do this amazing thing where it creates, we’ll call them action pathways. These action pathways are built overtime when we perform an action. Any action. Perform it once and the pathway begins. Perform it everyday for an entire lifetime? That action pathway is very well built.

Imagine trying to change that action pathway that your brain has been developing and refining for your entire life thus far. No wonder it becomes so easy to lack the motivation to do so. Our brains resist the change until new action pathways are built.

Now, humor me for a moment. Imagine yourself as a newborn. You struggle with your first few breaths until your brain quickly builds the action pathway, muscle memory, to make you breathe unconsciously. Just like that, you no longer have to figure out how or even remember to breathe anymore. The pathway your brain just built will do it for you, as long as it can.

Imagine yourself now, today, having to try to learn a new way to breathe. Your brain is going to be resistant to changing what it has done since the moment you were born, especially if the old way is still plausible, no matter how much it does not work for you now.

Are your current goals really important?

It seems a little easier to understand now how our brains being resistant to change can cause a lack of motivation. Our other big reason seems a little more difficult to comprehend. Why would we set a goal if it wasn’t important?

I figure there are two sides to this dilemma.

The first side is the goal was important when it was set but due to changes in life and changes in ourselves, it is no longer a goal that suits us. Instead of feeling guilty not being motivated to achieve this goal, we need to realize that it is okay to change or remove it completely. It is always right to change or remove a goal if it no longer suits who you are or who you are working to become.

The second side is the goal is still important but the self worth is not there. We no longer feel that we are worth achieving that goal, that it is for someone better.

Like our action pathways before, thought processes like this, thought pathways, have been built over our lifetimes.

Until we create new pathways, motivation will be an obstacle to overcome. We have to be as kind, understanding, and gentle on ourselves as we would be to those we love and care for.

Finding your inner motivation.

Most often, the motivation you need has to come from within and it is the most difficult to find. That little true self that says, “Let’s go, we need this”. It is often drowned out with the noises of our negative, shadow selves that say we are not worth it or it is too hard. Of course it’s hard. Haven’t you been paying attention?

One way that may help is daily affirmations. Sounds fancy. I like to call them reminders because, you know, that’s what they are. I already know they are true, I just need to remind myself. Daily. So, here is my example of daily reminders to help motivate you to continue building your new thought pathways.

These existing pathways, built on the experiences and advice of others, have taken many years to build and are full of things that do not reflect who I am or who I want to be. I am building better pathways to replace what is no longer working. I know that forging these new pathways will take time and dedication. I accept these new and true pathways because I am worth it.

Although I feel it is best to come up with your own reminders, you can find tons of examples by researching self care affirmations.

Beyond Little Thoughts

It is a wonderful thing when we are able to depend on others for motivation. It makes us feel loved, cared for, and supported. Imagine being able to feel that way by motivating yourself.

I feel it is so important to rely on myself for motivation and inspiration. Although my family is here when I need them, it is an amazing feeling when I can say that I am doing something for me because I know I am worth it.

It is also important to make time to reflect upon and reevaluate your goals on a regular basis. Needs change and so do you so make changes to your goals as you need in order to reflect the changes in yourself and what you want for your future.

What are your thoughts?

goals
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Christian

Beyond Little Thoughts became a way for me to vocalize what I have learned and what I continue to learn about multiple topics, giving my own perspective, however flawed it may be.

@beyondlittlethoughts

@1LittleThought_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.