Motivation logo

Missing Opportunities

Don't be afraid to spread your wings and take flight.

By GracePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Lately, I have been reminded that time is of the essence. We always hear go to work, finish school, but how often do we hear to follow your heart? And when we do, it's always followed by a "you should finish school first" or finish something else first.

But what do you do when your best friend fucks you over, the one person who swore would never leave you up and left, or you find out you only have a certain amount of time left?

In reality, we all have an expiration date stamped on us, we just don't know when. We have all been screwed over and we have all been left behind while the other person has up and left us. If you haven't been on this end of life, you probably wouldn't be reading this article.

If you have been in any of these situations, I am sure you have thought about up and leaving everything behind just like you were left behind and I am here to tell you that it is okay to get away for awhile—because when they left you behind, it really just set you free.

Don't miss out on opportunities just because you think you can't afford it or don't have time to do it because of work, school, or the people in your life. If they were meant to be in your life, they will still be there when you get back. You're so busy taking care of others, but who is taking care of you? It is imperative to take care of yourself.

Jump on that plane, take that train across the country, or hop in the car, and just go. The only person stopping you is you.

There is nothing to gain without taking the risks. We can always make money somehow or someway, but what happens when you approach your expiration date, would you be happy with your life? Would you feel accomplished? Or would you be on your death bed and everyone you took care of is nowhere to be found?

I was one of these people, my fiancee who swore he would never leave, up and left. My best friend turned against me, stole my money, and lied to my face everyday for months, even when I was planning a trip for us to go to Denver. I was going to take her there to help her heal with losing a loved one, all expenses paid, and that's how she repaid me. If I would have just booked that trip for me back when I first had the thought, I would have seen Denver, I would have watched the sunset from the mountains. It would have been one less thing I am regretting now.

If I would have just did my own thing instead of worrying about my fiancee, I would have started a business five years ago. I would have bought my first home, but he was so against all of that, saying I was too young and that he would always be there to take care of me so I wouldn't have to worry about anything.

I do so much for everyone around me, but who was there when I needed someone? Not my best friend, not my fiancee.

While it breaks my heart these things happened to me, it has made me realize that we don't get time back, so choose to live it wisely while you still have the chance because tomorrow is not promised and even those you love deeply are bound to hurt you.

I have now started my own business, I'm currently closing on my house, and I am booking my next travel as I write this article.

Life is too short to be unhappy and have doubts. If you are having doubts, you probably aren't meant to be in that situation.

The real question out of all of this is: Would you be happy if you had one month left to live?

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Grace

Small town freelance blogger. Bringing you relationship and family content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.