Motivation logo

Me and the Moon

Thoughts at night keep us up sometimes and the only thing listening is the moon..

By Re'naijah PurvisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Taken on a soccer field in Abington, PA. -Re'naijah Purvis

I try to figure out what is wrong with me. Why my soul and heart become so vulnerable at night, and I start to cry. I don’t know exactly what I am crying for. I sit up all night and ponder on it as the moon illuminates the tears that trickle down my face.

I wonder, do other people sit up late and cry as much as I do as I stare up into the galaxy. Dreadful and taunting thoughts marinate in my head; whilst the toxicity of them burns through my skull, leaving imprinted on my forehead words like ‘brave, strong, tough’. I don’t think I am though.

These thoughts are unexplainable because most of the time, they have no origin of where they come from or past experiences are what taunt me on these nights. I have realized that in the moments where there is no recent or identifiable reason why I am sad, it is because I have healing to do.

The moon exposes my truth with its piercing light and it makes me realize that I’m putting on a facade every day. For in the daytime I am 'social, open, caring' and I pass through the day like so. But at night, my true feelings seep out, and exposed are my emotional scars.

I ask the universe to help me rid the negative energy and traumas embedded in my soul and to be released from my body so that I can sleep one solid night.

Mysteriously enough, I am not sure if it actually feels good to release the sadness that’s pent up but as my soul cries out for help, I can promise you that nobody is listening besides the moon.

The pain is so immaculate that I feel it in my heart, and in the fibers of my body. When the mind aches, the body does too, and it leaves me wondering what I should do.

Who do I talk to? I refuse to talk to anyone no matter what the answer is. How do I stop this? Why am I feeling like this?... Maybe the moon has all the answers and that is why it is comforting me as I think.... or maybe it is taunting me as I lay there feeling sorry for myself.

I have none of these answers. I do realize though, that there is absolutely nothing wrong with me; this is just part of my journey in life. The moon does not give me the answers to my problems but instead is a spiritual representation of my physical being. It shines through the darkness at night taking the place of the sun, just as I am the light in a dark world taking up space in the universe.

And so if this is the case….

I’ll try to sleep now, to get through the next day, so that I can make it to another night of the same rotation. And every night, maybe I’ll get closer to that answer that’s far out of my reach, that might just bring me peace. Every morning, I look forward to waking up because the moon and its spirit resonate through me and it is as if every night it returns to talk to me and ask me how my day was and what did I learn about myself this time?

So, I ask the moon to continue to shine down on me at night and keep me company, for it is what makes me feel less alone. It is what aids me on this journey of self-discovery and healing. It is what captivates me every night, and eases my spirits helping me to get through the night, and look forward to living yet another day.

-Re’naijah Purvis

healing
4

About the Creator

Re'naijah Purvis

Peace and Blessings to all who reads! I have joined this platform because I have always had a passion for writing since a child, where I would spend my time writing short stories just for fun. Join me on this adventure of creativity!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.