Motivation logo

MASTERING MY MIND

AND OTHER THINGS i WON'T BE DOING THIS WEEK...

By Kate McGovernPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s Wednesday already and so far this week I’ve done approximately...nothing.

I blame the bank holiday of course. It would be stupid to blame myself. Even if half the problem is not being able to get my brain into gear for long enough to feign interest in important stuffs (no it's not a typo) that might need doing.

I’d admit to having the attention span of a goldfish but at 9 seconds I think the humble goldfish has got one up on me.

I don’t really mind being short on focus, like most other things in my life it probably presents more of a problem to other people than it does to me and I’m selfishly ok with that.

I believe I may have officially entered the "it is what it is" stage of life because I've become quite adept at not giving a fuck about an awful lot of things without feeling awfully bad about it.

To illustrate my point quite nicely, I’ve been meaning to write this blog post since Friday so that it would be ready to upload nice and early on Monday but laziness and procrastination got the better of me, and guess what? It didn’t happen. This isn’t even the blog post that I intended to write, and unless you hadn’t noticed this one is being written totally by the seat of my pants...metaphorically speaking of course.

There are a whole host of things I may also not do this week while I knuckle down and get some serious writing done. I’ve had a good old talk with myself about what it is that I ultimately want to achieve this year and if the priority is to write then I have to stop being feeling so damned guilty when I sit down to do it.

As far as mastering my mind goes, I can’t honestly be bothered. I have got to the stage where, if I’m moderately happy and extremely safe then I’m doing OK and can focus my ever-shifting attention elsewhere.

Also, it’s already mid-week, and technically speaking I’m all but ready to start gearing down for the weekend again.

As I said before I’m currently blaming the bank holiday for screwing with my routine, because I was actually getting into quite a stable rhythm during the week. I had plans, and goals, and all those sexy things. Yes, I may have hidden my bullet journal in a draw intermittently when I got really frustrated with my never-ending list but I love her really and what’s love without a little bit of angst right?

The only trouble is, I now have three days left to get five days of writing done, which isn’t impossible but also doesn’t leave room for any more time off this week.

What has any of this got to do with the title of this blog post I hear you ask. And that’s my case in point. The mind it goes a-wandering and sometimes all you can do is wait for it to wander back. And that’s how this week is going.

Having said this, I probably will take some time to really think (and the emphasis here is on the thinking) about some systems and routines that might make reaching my goals a bit easier, but before I do that it would probably be quite useful to actually set some goals.

And how about the other things I won’t be doing this week?

  • I won’t be stressing too much if I don’t get everything done on my list
  • I won’t be ignoring my reading time
  • I won’t cut down on the copious amount of tea and coffee that seems to get me through the day
  • And I won’t compromise my writing time for anything insignificant.

And that’s about it, the mind will be left alone to wander at will and we’ll see what it comes up with...

goals
Like

About the Creator

Kate McGovern

kate is a freelance writer, an ardent supporter of the tea break, and a part time procrastinator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.