Motivation logo

Making Smiles

Being Aggressively Positive Through Creation

By Jenna ChapmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The thing that fulfills me is making other people smile. Whether it be through making them something or even just sitting and talking to them. I give hugs and try to do anything I can to make their days better.

It started when I was really little just giving my friends hugs or rubbing my teachers' necks when I knew they were stressed. Lately, though, I've been creating things out of clay and yarn to give away. This new wave started when my kitten died in October. I've been striving to keep people out of the dark that nearly drowned me.

I started by making that kitten out of clay, then making more and more pieces for those closest to me. There would be days when the only thing I had energy for would be moving and making with clay. The swirls of colors that came from rolling and spiralling pieces together to make something unique and beautiful. My best friend has a handful of creations because they reminded me of him. My mother and sister have things that I've made them, like a jewelry box shaped like a coiled up snake in my sister's favorite colors, or a pair of sculptures shaped like dogs we had (or still have) for my mother. They didn't ask for these- I was just deeply inspired out of my love for them.

I even crocheted a whole mini blanket for my abusive roommate's cat, just because I loved that cat so much that I wanted to give her something made specifically for her. Currently, I'm working on another mini blanket for a dog I lived with for only a week named Luna who I still adore.

Yesterday, I finished crocheting a little blue giraffe for a little boy in a new foster home. His foster mom taught my sister in preschool, so I felt very compelled to make something to brighten his day. He's only been in the foster house for a week now, so he doesn't have anything that is definitively his. So, I messaged her what his favorite color and animal is and created a little blue giraffe to grow up with him. He even came with his own blanket and pillow and a scarf. I got a picture last night of Little Man fast asleep with the giraffe (wrapped in the blanket) cradled in his arms and pressed against his chest.

I think that, rather than making people smile, the thing that fuels me is showing love and adoration for someone. I want to make people know that they are loved and cared for.

I read a tumblr post a long time ago about people getting into fights and that the last thing one person heard were cruel and harsh rather than loving and I guess that terrifies me. I'm so afraid of the last thing someone hears from me is something that makes them frown. I try to love and spread love as much as I can, so I make things for them to hold and feel that love even if I'm not there.

I wanted to spread that warmth even further, so I made an Etsy shop where people can get custom statues of animals they've lost or their favorite animal. I want people who are hurting to be able to feel even just a smidgen better. That's my whole goal. I haven't had any orders yet, but my whole purpose is to make people's lives better.

I'm going to continue with that goal for as long as I can. I don't want to feel negativity the way I did this past year, so I've been aggressively positive to fix that.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Jenna Chapman

Just a college kid who writes poetry and other things. I'll figure that out in a bit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.