Motivation logo

Make Yourself Happy!

Why is it so hard these days?

By Angel AllsopPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

I keep telling myself that life gets better and everything happens for a reason, but most days I'm not so sure that is true. I have been through a lot throughout my childhood and I do believe those tragic moments in my life made me who I am today. Sometimes that is enough for me to be happy but how do you really make yourself happy?

For me, happiness is genuine but very hard to find. I am one of those people that tends to keep to myself unless approached, which has made it very hard for me to make long lasting friendships. Friends are one thing I beat myself up about because I feel like I cannot be happy if I don't have people around me that make me happy. My grandma always tells me that only you can make yourself happy, but I'm not sure exactly how.

When you are in grade school it is quite easy making friends because most of the time you are forced to talk to other people that you see everyday during the week but once you graduate, everything changes. It is so much harder making friends in college or just as an adult in general. You aren't forced to talk to anyone so if you are an introvert like I am, it makes it very difficult. Then, on the other side, as an adult you hate drama and that will be around all your life. I feel like it might just be easier for me to be on my own rather than have fake friends and drama around me.

Hobbies are another thing that are hard to find for me. I danced for about seven years and when I did I felt as though I was happy, but then it got to be too much to handle. Between work and college and dance there was not enough time in the day. So ever since I quit dancing, it has been so difficult for me to find something else I could love doing in my spare time. I am not much of a reader but I do try and read one to two chapters a night before bed and I'm not that creative so drawing and painting are out of the picture. This is why I am trying to write more because I am always so stuck in my head—why not write it out and see what comes of it?

Someone once said that just because you have no one to go out with doesn't mean you don't go out. But for me I'm not into going out alone. I would rather stay home and be alone and bored. I guess it would be worth a try, though. In the town where I live and grew up there are not many adventurous places I could possibly go. There is a fishing dock and a few parks but it's not much of an adventure if you ask me.

It is quite difficult to honestly make yourself genuinely happy but it also comes down to your attitude toward things. It really comes down to your own decision on either to be happy or not. For me, writing down all of my negative aspects on making myself happy helps me to turn them around and make positive aspects I can tell myself everyday.

With things like if you go out and do something you enjoy either by yourself or with someone, there is a high chance of meeting new people on the way. As for being an introvert and not speaking up, I would challenge myself to say hello to a stranger or smile at some people throughout my day. And for a hobby that I can't seem to find, just try something new each week and see how I feel about it. I might find something enjoyable that I wouldn't imagine would be. It will always come down to how you see the world and what makes you the happiest.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.