Motivation logo

Make the Most of Life

Some of my thoughts on life, and success

By Jacob LarochePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What matters the most to you in life? If you were to ask me that question, I couldn't give you an honest answer. I don't know yet. Every now and then though, I get a glimpse of what happiness is.

I am 17, and am currently finishing my senior year in high school, so I certainly don't have the experience some may, but I try to capture the beautiful moments in life, and learn from them. If we aren't learning, or progressing towards some set goal, what are we doing? I'm not going to say we don't all need a break every now and then from the overwhelming toxicity that is reality, because we do. That being said, you should still always have that goal, and constantly ask yourself what you are doing to get there.

Some suggest that you always read, as many successful individuals do the same. They are always learning. If you are concerned with money, pay attention to what works, and what doesn't. The same concept can be applied to virtually anything in life. I can't quite recall the exact quote, but it goes something like "Failure is proof that you are trying". It's alright to mess up, as long as you keep pushing. Quotes are something that I find happiness in, funny enough. The good ones remind you of what you are doing, and refresh your goals, or at least they do for me.

I have random conversations with people, and sometimes they turn out to be surprisingly fulfilling. For example, in one of my math classes, whenever there's a break in lecture, a small group of people and I talk about our thoughts on the Earth, and our purpose here. Whether or not we believe in parallel universes, destiny, God, etc... These conversations bring me joy, and I wish there were more people willing to dive into such engaging topics.

My point with that is, find the people that make you happy, that have good attitudes. Surround yourself with positivity, and people that have goals, because at the very least, their mindset may rub off on you. There are so many things in life that you can do, you will never be able to do them all.

Music is actually something I spend a lot of time listening to. I'll listen to a few songs for a period of time, and then move onto other songs. Later when I hear one of those songs again, I'll remember a specific time in my life, and it makes me smile. As I discover new music, I may find peace in the lyrics, or personally relate to them, so that makes a huge positive impact in my life. It can inspire you, or even just make you feel a little bit better on a bad day, and that can make all the difference.

Moving back towards some personal things; I'm currently working on joining the Marine Corps. The reason for this? I don't know what else to do. There are a lot of careers to choose from, and enlisting gives me a job during my time in the Corps, and a career afterwards. My overall goal from this is to retire from 20 years of service, and then use my experience from that to get another job, and work another 20 years for whatever company, and collect another retirement. After this, I'll already be set, and I'd like to start investing in real estate.

I'm sharing this for two reasons; To make my goals public so hopefully I feel more pressure towards completing them, and to inform others that there are always options. Always try to have something lined up, something to fall back on.

I hope that I have been of some help, or have inspired you to improve your life in some way. These were just some of the thoughts I've put into text, in no particular order. Now go and find what makes you happy!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.