Motivation logo

Make a Change

In a World Where We Forget to Smell the Roses

By Chyann JanePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Appalachian Mountains

Three years ago I left the state of Michigan to go to North Carolina on a family vacation. It was my brothers, sisters, and I's first time being so far away from where we called home. It was full of new surprises every time we would make it into another state. Every year since then I have made a trip down to the mountains, not always for a particular reason but more of a way to just appreciate the scenery.

The world we live in offers a fortitude of nature all around us that many don't stop to look at. Green leaves, grass, beautiful blossoming flowers, and even crashing waves. We live in a world where our phones and laptops dictate our lives and we hand over our emotions to other people. The world offers so much more for every single soul on this planet yet we all keep running from the truth.

Take a second to stop, look around, what do you see? Where are you? What's in your hand? What do you hear? What do you feel? Now take a deep breath and close your eyes. Answer the same questions without actually seeing anything. The world has a vast amount of answers; you're never wrong.

Although we need to think about our answers, think about what we are doing to our Earth, our home. Where do you throw your trash? What are you using every day? Do you recycle? How do you speak to people? How do you speak to yourself?

All the questions in this story are meant for you to question not just your life, but an inner energy within yourself. Are you truly happy? Do you move in a way that makes you happy? Do you allow yourself the happiness you truly deserve?

A year ago, on my 20th birthday I began to question myself. Question my actions, the people I surrounded myself with, the energy I was allowing in my life, and most importantly what I wanted to see in a world that is beginning to crumble. "I'm one person," I thought to myself. I didn't think I could make a difference to anyone because no one would ever listen.

In the week I turned 21, I began changing my life around not just for myself but for everyone and everything that lives and breathes on this earth. I have found opportunities in my community to make a difference. I even share my own story with people to give them light on a situation they think they have no say over. We put ourselves down more than we need to, we need to uplift not just ourselves but others as well. Hate is everywhere; kindness is rare.

To begin the change look within yourself. Find happiness, find a center, because everyone deserves to smile and be appreciated as the earth offers the beautiful scenery. Do not take for granted what the Earth has given us, for what someone can buy you. Because one day that money in your wallet will show you its truest evils.

Stop and smell the daisies in a field of roses.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Chyann Jane

I am a young girl with an old soul looking to inspire others. I want to allow others to feel the emotion and influence them to make a difference in any way possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.