Motivation logo

Living Your Life’s Purpose

A Message of Empowerment

By A.N.TiptonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
11
Living Your Life’s Purpose
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

“If you can’t figure out your purpose, figure out your passion. For your passion will lead you right into your purpose.” ~Bishop T.D. Jakes

As I sit with this topic of Living Your Life Purpose, it occurs to me that there are many of us who don’t necessarily know what that is. Or maybe deep down we do know, but we make excuses or give reasons as to why we aren’t doing it, or can’t do it. I was raised with the belief that financial security only came in one way. Get a job, earn a paycheck and fit into a corporate world where the boundaries and expectations are clearly laid out. I mean, some of us learned this early on from going to school. How to fit in, comply and conform. At least, this was how I accepted this ideology. So how do I find my life’s purpose? How does anyone? Is it selfish to want to follow it? And if not, can one be financially supported by following our heart? Because that is what it comes down to. What is your heart telling you?

I, personally, know in my heart of hearts what I want to do. It’s believing and executing it that has held me back up until now. But I’ll get into that more later. If you don’t know what your life’s purpose is, I would suggest you ask yourself three questions to start.

If money was no object, what would you want to do? What would you spend your time, energy, and creativity on? What did you love to do as a child? When no one was looking, what gave you unbridled, genuine joy?

What makes you feel that burning passion, makes you sit straight and your eyes light up when someone asks you about it? What gives you that fire in your belly?

Take some time to really sit with these questions, daydream and be brave enough to answer them without judgement. Let go of the expectations that you or others have. Imagine that there’s no fear or lack of belief. In this daydream, you are the creator, manifestor, the Be-All. And then when you feel as if your heart is singing “Yes, that’s it!”, be honest with your intention. This is the time to decide where you want to go. Get really clear on your vision. What does it look like? How does it feel? Set goals. Create affirmations to remind you and lift you up. Visualize or meditate on the end result. Create a vision board to look at many times a day. Align your goals with your life purpose, your passion. And then take inspired action.

This is the part that holds me up everytime. Taking action. Why? Because then I’d have to face the old belief that what I want to do doesn’t “pay the bills.” Because I’d have to acknowledge the fears that I’ve created in order to hold myself back. There are two things in life that gives me that fire in my belly, ignites my passion and makes my heart sing. One is writing and the other is empowering others. It sounds so simple, doesn’t it?

I think sometimes living our life purpose can be one of the hardest things to follow because it means so much to us. By following our life’s purpose, I believe we have no choice but to be in service to others, in one way or another. We are asked to take ownership of our life and our wants. Maybe it’s easy for some. They wake up and say, “This is my life’s purpose” and it comes effortlessly for them. Maybe they worked through all their fears, expectations and beliefs. Great! I say go forth and prevail! But for me, it’s been a struggle. Don’t get me wrong, I honor that struggle because this is the path that I’ve chosen to get there. My deranged soul probably decided that I needed an obstacle course to wade through to make it feel that much more intense. That, or I am really, really, freaking stubborn? Hard headed? A glutton for punishment? You get the picture.

I think living an empowered life is pushing through the fire of our illusions. And sometimes those illusions come in the form of actual roadblocks. When we truly start to manifest that which we want, if we don’t work through the limiting beliefs or fears, the universe will give us the opportunity to overcome them. Isn’t that fun? I call this the wall of fire. Imagine you’ve spent all this time, energy and action to get to a goal and all of a sudden this wall of fire appears in front of you. You can stop and say “I can’t go forth. Why, oh why Universe are you doing this to me?” Or you can realize that the wall of fire is an old fear or belief and walk through, knowing that it was just an illusion, in whatever form or obstacle it comes in.

When you align with your life’s purpose, your passion, that’s when the universe offers you up an opportunity that seems effortless that helps you walk down that path. It could be a job offer out of the blue, a friend mentioning a book that informs you or you meet someone who can help you take that next step. Or, heck, you could be that for someone else. Remember, we are all in this together. That is what living an empowered life looks like. Having the courage to follow your life’s purpose, that fire in your belly, that voice that sings in your heart.

My questions to you are, do you know your life’s purpose? Do you know what gives you passion? Is it something you make money from or is it something that you do outside of your job that brings you joy? How does it help you be in service? And then when you can answer any of these questions, know that you have everything within you to take the steps to living an empowered life. You are the only one who can live your life, so why not make it an empowered one?

This article was published originally on one of my website blogs at here on 03-14-2020. If you like my article or can relate, please heart me!

happiness
11

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.