Motivation logo

Living for Yourself So You Won’t Die Full of Regrets

“One day your life will shine before your eyes. Make sure it is worth watching. ”~ Unknown

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Living for Yourself So You Won’t Die Full of Regrets
Photo by Rui Silvestre on Unsplash

A mother was walking down the street with her two young sons. The man stood up and exclaimed, “You must be proud of them! My mother replied, "Who? A doctor or a lawyer?"

A few days ago I heard this joke and, although it was intended to be, it just made me sad. I was one of those children who when they were transformed into adults, never explored their passions and never went to their dreams.

I loved writing. I mean I can write for hours without feeling tired or hungry.

I was so excited to express myself with my poem. Fifteen years ahead: I was working as a finance manager at a top international company. I woke up one day and I couldn't even move. Even literally, I could not leave the bed, I was not happy at all.

Thinking about it, I was like the kind of advanced mom, who worked all her life as an accountant in a small company.

Don't get me wrong; I love my mom. I love her so much that I would do anything to see her happy, including accepting a job I didn't like, making her feel safe. Because I will be, right? What is insecure about a well-paying management job?

But if this job should make me feel safe, why do I feel like I'm missing out on the most important battle of my life?

You were there, you did that. I hope, I'm one of those who, in the end, managed to find them again. Unfortunately, I had to watch my dad die of remorse so that I could finally do this.

So, what about you? If the above joke touches you in a non-humorous way, you might want to look at the following:

Understand your story.

Who were you as a child? What did you enjoy doing? Have you stopped doing the things you enjoy? What? Why? What did you learn about working from people who had some authority in your life (parents, grandparents, brother, sister, favorite teachers)?

Manage your story.

It is and you cannot change the past. Allow to vent for a moment. Express your feelings. All right; just don't get caught up in the anger.

Negative emotions will not help you or anyone else. Turn to forgiveness. Then be thankful. People die every day full of remorse; they don’t have time left to change anything about their lives, but you do. He still does.

Make a plan for yourself.

Make it a daily / weekly routine to keep in touch with your real self. What is your definition of happiness? Are you happy? Spend ten minutes each day, and whenever you have time, think about the things you enjoyed most. Is there a way to bring them back to your present life? How? What? Edit it.

In most cases, you do not have to change all your work, or even your current job. You just have to be more discriminating with the help you render toward other people.

Make it happen: stick to the plan as if it were your most important project right now.

It will not be easy. After all, you have more time with your responsibilities, children to take care of, or you travel a lot. However, it is your most valuable asset. And unless you will commit to your happiness, no one else will. After all, what do you want your children to learn from you?

Finally, please get yourself out of this "car."

When you get that promotion, when you buy that big house, after you come back from that wonderful trip, when your kids are about to go to college… life happens to us while we wait for some event far away to take place.

The scent of roses now grows in your little garden. You will feel better sooner. And that is a promise

goals
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.