Motivation logo

Live a Life Worth Living

... Live with Purpose

By Heidi Fitzsimmons @RiseLoveLivePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Life a Life worth Living

The only person you should try to be better than is the person you were yesterday. ~ Unknown

What does it mean to “live a life worth living”? What does it mean to “live with purpose”?

To, me, and specifically as it relates to Rise || Love || Live—it means to live PASSIONATELY, to DO something with your life, and to CARRY OUT your life’s passions.

A few of us are lucky enough to fulfill our passions in our day to day work.

My sister and brother-in-law fall into that group of folks where they get to “play” every day while they work! They are professional mountaineers, climbers, and ski patrol (even with avalanche training!).

So it was no surprise to the family when they announced the location of their wedding. We also found ourselves not too surprised with the plan for the bride and groom [and even the wedding party] to climb up to their wedding spot!

Cathedral Ledge - Conway, NH

But alas, not all of us are so lucky. For those of us with a “regular” 9 to 5 job, how can we seek to fulfill our passions and live a life worth living?

What are you passionate about?

What are your strengths? Where do your natural talents lie? Do you want to pursue a passion that personally fulfills and helps you, your family or the community?

And now my favorite part—let’s make a list using these three buckets.

Personal, Family, Community

Find your Passion - Downloadable Doc

In a quiet place, with a big breath of inspiration—begin brainstorming your ideas.

Instinctively you will want to validate each idea before jotting it down, but for this exercise, don’t allow that to happen. I urge you to pull your ideas from your heart, not your head.

When you are done circle the top three that, at this moment, bring you the most joy.

For me, I have many things on my list that I am passionate about, but my sweet spot? Cooking for others.

I am very happy when I am cooking, from our weekly family dinners to cooking for about 100 happy folks at church.

And each time, just before exhaustion kicks in, I have a wonderful feeling of euphoria. During that single moment, you realize that all of your plans have come together and everyone is enjoying themselves and the beautiful meal that you have created!

This feeling of euphoria comes from taking care of or by doing good for others. Volunteering or careers in Social Services sets a clear path for one to live with purpose. While on this path, this journey, you are also taking care of your spiritual health.

We have to take care of our body, mind, and spirit.

The specific ideas on each of our lists will be unique to the individual, but if I’d have to guess I bet many of us have noted some type of volunteering and/or activity that includes doing good things for others.

During one of my Sundays are Simple episodes, I talk about how important it is for each of us to use our strengths and “Go make a difference, we can make a difference…go make a difference in this world…

One has to admit that living a life WITH purpose is better than not! Does it mean that if I am NOT living with purpose I am living a ‘bad life”?!? No, of course not.

But you’re missing out and you’re not getting everything out of life that it has to offer.

I’m simply pointing out that if you can find something that you are passionate about, your time here on earth will be more exciting to YOU and a bonus if others benefit from your passion as well!

Now what?

What can we do with these newly found passions?

Okay, we created a list, identified our top three, and now I am asking you to implement at least ONE passion before the end of the year.

Just ONE! Today, select the easiest idea and make it happen!

I suggested the “easiest” idea because we are hoping to get this passion into motion BEFORE the end of the year, a mere six and a half weeks away.

Next, create a plan to make your passion happen.

Commit to yourself by this Sunday (today is Wednesday) that you will have a pretty good idea, a pretty solid plan in place as to HOW you will make your passion idea happen.

Then—make your passion happen!

Commit to yourself by next Thursday (another four days) that you will put that plan into motion and you will make your passion happen.

Is that doable? Do you feel passionately enough about your idea to truly make that happen for yourself? I hope so!

Will your passion change over time?

Yes, definitely, probably, maybe? Well, that was a silly answer, wasn’t it? And per my usual response to my own commentary—It really depends on you.

Where are you on your current journey? What stage of life are you at? Are you starting with your easiest vs. most challenging passion idea? Do you easily get bored like my youngest?

There lies your answer—implement your other ideas over time, check your list in a year, make a new list. Keep the passion ideas flowing!

At the end of the day, whatever bucket your passion idea falls into [personal vs. community] I hope you take the leap of faith into believing me when I tell you “living a life with purpose is the best life to live.”

I think the best thing for you to do is just live your life. Live a life that’s worth living, one where you do what you want to do, pursue your passions. That way, if you meet someone, they’ll be joining a life that’s already really good. ~Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

Until next time… Peace and Blessings, Friends!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Heidi Fitzsimmons @RiseLoveLive

I am Caring, Loving and Fun!

Thank you for the privilege to share my stories with you. I seek to inspire you! Rise to the Occasion | Love Everyone | Live a Life worth Living (repeat). Be the best version of you and live life to its fullest!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.