Motivation logo

Lifetime List

The Life Lessons that Led to My Lifetime List

By J BPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As a person with a type A personality, I have a deep affection for lists. Anything I can put on a list and later check off makes me feel happier. I have daily, weekly, and monthly to-do lists. It helps me feel organized and accomplished. Whether this is true or in my head, who knows?

However, even with my love of lists, the idea of a "bucket list" has never appealed to me. I didn’t like the idea of checking things off just to feel at peace with death. It felt morbid and sad to me. I also always felt like I was a little too young to be thinking about any of that. Then, on one memorable birthday, I went on a helicopter ride over the beach. It was a quick 20 minute ride, but it was exhilarating! I came home wanting to learn how to fly a helicopter, and I decided that one day I would.

Something changed in me that day. I realized you are never too young to start living your dreams and finding happiness around every corner. So, I began writing what I like to call my Lifetime List. I started with a goal of writing down 101 things I'd like to try within my lifetime. That list has now grown to about 110 exciting things I have to look forward to.

While I was writing it, I also began checking things off. Some things were smaller and easier. I had a chance to ride in a horse-drawn carriage, donate blood regularly, and try a paint and pour class. Some were more complicated or time consuming. I finished a tattoo removal and began learning to speak Spanish. I still hope to be fluent one day.

It is an empowering feeling knowing you can actually accomplish anything you put your mind to. I was finally feeling the meaning behind those words I heard my entire childhood. There is still SO much left to do, learn, and experience. I am enjoying working through this lifetime list so much!

I still have not learned to fly a helicopter, but I know that I will! I am also looking forward to getting my motorcycle license, riding in a hot air balloon, visiting Australia, and learning to make sushi. Getting started and convincing myself it was possible was truly the hardest part. I know I probably shouldn't rank them, but the thing I am looking forward to most of all is seeing the Aurora Borealis. What a sight that will be!

I'm sharing my experiences and self- revelations with the hope to inspire others to begin their journeys as well. I was the only thing standing in my way. Even after I wrote the list I would put things off "until we have more money," "until the kids are older," or "when I have more time." It was a slow start, and I have never been impressed with slow-moving progress. Then I realized I am in control of all the obstacles AND all the solutions. From then on, the adventures seemed to begin checking themselves off.

I also hope with each item you are able to cross off your list, you can help encourage others to do the same. No one would have accomplished anything in this world without least a little help from others. We are all in this life journey together. If there is something on your Lifetime List that I could help you achieve please reach out to me. I would love to help. I firmly believe we are all in control of our own experiences, so why not make them as a spectacular you can while you are here?

goals
Like

About the Creator

J B

Stay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.