Motivation logo

Life is more possible if you don't put limits on yourself

I used to say that youth is so precious, it seems that how to spend it is a throw.

By JyyedgPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

My greatest source of positive energy is a hard-working girl with a fair complexion. She studied in a university in Beijing, a two-year master of finance, has now graduated, in a bank Beijing branch to work. During the first year of postgraduate study, she did the following things :(1) she ranked top 3% in the major, and the key was advanced microeconomics and advanced econometrics, which were the most troublesome for me. She got 90+ in both of them, and even 95+ in one of them. (2) Passed CFA Level I and II, and passed five CPA courses; (3) In her spare time, she also practiced at a leisurely pace. Both companies are among the top securities firms in China.

Last winter, under such a severe job search situation, she also had some difficulties. After she got a relatively good offer in her hometown and provincial capital city, her family inevitably advised her: "It's only a matter of coming back, why should I stay in Beijing?" But she whispered to her friend, "I don't have to stay in Beijing, but I've gained more in just one year than I did in four years of college, and sometimes even more than in the previous 20 years. This growing sense of fullness, let me reluctant to give up."

Now, she has. When I just started working, I talked to my friends occasionally. I was so tired that I would fall into bed when I opened the door. I squinted my eyes and thought of her profile of getting up at six o 'clock on time every morning when she took the postgraduate entrance exam and sitting for 12 hours. I thought of her working in a white suit. I felt that even though her life was very tired, as she said, I could see her future, which must be radiant.

Even I mistook this for a story about an overachiever. However, my senior high school sister immediately told me: "Our school this year's college entrance examination champion, with a total score of 723 points ranked the second place in the province, after all kinds of dissatisfaction with their grades, a few days after the score came out, I went back to school to study English by myself... That's a good student!"

So, I'm not telling the story of a student who did well in school. Because there will always be someone in this world who can review in a shorter time and get a higher score than you. I'm just saying, in the same environment, there are always people who go further and faster because of their awareness.

In the eyes of a better person, her grades would have been a Slam Dunk. They don't even have to take the exam to get admitted to a prestigious university, and they don't have to make every effort to get an offer that everyone envies. But three years ago, she and I graduated from college, after spending the previous four years in the same classroom, listening to the same classes, writing the same assignments, complaining about the same problems and doing the same tests.

Now, three years later, SHE has left me so far behind that I can only see the dust flying in front of me, and I can't even find anyone. Behind that piece of dust is not only the lack of knowledge and lack, WHAT I lack, but also the courage to face the difficulties and the pursuit of challenging myself.

Whether it was innate laziness or a sense of panic or frustration, I used to set all kinds of boundaries for myself. For example, I just don't understand the accounting bookkeeping thinking, I just don't know the complicated operation of futures market, I just don't understand the class of econometrics...

The more I grew up, the more I learned to escape. When I met problems that I could not do, I always comforted myself with "I will not engage in this work in the future" or "I will not use those theoretical derivations in writing papers anyway", and I found various reasons to avoid the hard wounds in the knowledge system. I also do not know the future of life and work, will not be because of the lazy and escape the stumble now, but now, I finally understand, even if not stumble, I also poor others too much.

The world is moving so fast that everyone else is racing along. If you're the only one standing still, using long-winded excuses to avoid learning and accumulating, you're not only going to be left behind by your peers, you're going to be outdone by a lot of upstarts. It will be too late to regret it.

During my freshman year, one of my most respected teachers said at a meeting, "Students and young people your age can all be viewed as a growing tree. What matters to you now is not how well the branch grows, but how deeply the root grows. For only when the roots are deep and strong can the tree grow tall and luxuriant."

At that time, I could not listen to it, and I felt that no one could not understand it. Now, this is the simplest truth, I understand six or seven years later. I think the implication of the teacher's words is that you should never set limits for yourself when you are young. You should try your best to acquire knowledge, try new things and experiences as much as you can, and accumulate, bit by bit, the experience and lessons of being human. Only in this way can we lay a firm and solid foundation, absorb nutrients and grow tall and straight. Can look back at their wobbly fragile roots and malnourished branches, only feel that failed to live up to the ardent teachings of the teacher.

Last month, a public wechat account I follow organized a campaign called "Change Every day for the next 30 days", which listed many things that could be changed. As someone who complains a lot and whiners a lot, I picked the little thing of "Not complaining every day."

A month later, I was surprised to find that not only did I maintain a smooth and calm mood every day, I was free of the anxiety that often plagued me, but more importantly, I had a positive attitude towards my life and future.

I never seriously thought about the destructive impact of my "constant complaining and complaining" weakness, but later I realized that maybe anxiety, easy to give up, low self-confidence and other negative emotions in my life are all from this.

It turned out that not only in the knowledge structure and learning, in life I give myself "limits" are everywhere. For example, because of my stiff body, I couldn't do a lot of simple movements in my first yoga class in college. But the yoga coach at that time mistakenly thought I was unwilling to do it seriously and reprimanded me severely: "Can't you seriously complete an action? !"

So, until now, I firmly remember the embarrassment and embarrassment at that time, do not want to learn yoga. When people ask, I say to myself, "I'm just one of those rigid bodies. I just can't do yoga." In fact, seriously think about it, at that time yoga instructor may just casually say a word, but let me bear in mind for several years, so have missed the opportunity to change their physical quality through yoga this exercise. Borrow a friend more sharp scold method, be "don't be nonsense nonsense, you are broken every day on the ground can not stick up the glass heart!"

I'm no longer willing to refuse yoga because I'm stiff. I'm no longer willing to refuse swimming lessons because I'm out of shape. I'm no longer willing to refuse to put on makeup because I don't have the time.

I used to say that youth is so precious, it seems that how to spend it is a throw. I don't know whether to soak in the study room of the library or go on a reading trip to see the magnificent world. Students with excellent grades are still admired by many, quitting their jobs and traveling to promote their values, but most of us are confused and doubtful about how to settle down. So, just have ceaseless exploration, ceaseless overthrow, finally find their own way.

I don't know what to do in the future, or how to live a "right" life without regret. I just want to keep trying new things in life, not to give up easily, not to say no easily, to keep a curiosity, to live a richer and richer life, to walk a narrow life wider and wider.

Get rid of those "I can't", "I won't", "I can't do it" mental bacteria, and move on to a bigger life.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Jyyedg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.