Motivation logo

Life in the pandemic times

Surviving online school year.

By Nalana PhillipsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

So school has started once more, and it is back to the same old same old. I have to admit I had high hopes that things would change slightly with the end of the vacation. My hopes were too high because my kid is already stressing me out with not listening, attitude, and constant disrespect of what I say.

I really miss the good old days of sending kids on the bus from 7:30 to three during the week. I never thought I would say that, but I do. This online schooling is just not cutting it as education as far as I am concerned. I feel teachers rush through the lessons even if the kids do not understand it. They expect you to be on their schedule and not your own.

I wish I had a backyard to send her to or somewhere she could go that would help relieve some stress for both of us in these troubling times. I can understand where she is coming from, being cooped up all day with nowhere to go and no one to talk to but me. I don’t think she understands that I feel much the same way. I do not like it any more than she does, but I cannot control the world or the outcome of what is going. All I can do is try to keep us as safe as possible so we do not become one of the statistics.

Living in a transitional home has never felt more like a prison as it does these days. I am doing everything I can to make it, so we move on and go on to better things, but sometimes I think my kid does not appreciate anything I do for her other than giving her the things she wants.

I can only hope that one day when we look back and put all of this behind us, we can smile and laugh about the things that happened.

I am sure others have it harder than I, and some go through the same things with their children. I am not trying to make my problems seem more important than others. This is just a way for me to vent and put out the things we are going through, through this pandemic. So anyone reading this do not scoff or think this person has it more comfortable than most. No one does right now. Everyone is going through their trials and tribulations.

We each have to own it, though, because if you say you are not and that everything is right, you would be lying. We live in uncertain times. Every day I wake up, I feel a question mark is hanging over our heads, and I have to ask myself honestly, what will happen today?

I pray for the best and hope every morning I wake up that today will be the day the virus disappears as quickly as it came. I know it is most likely foolish, but I can only hope for all our sakes that it will be true one day.

Believe once it is over, I will be burning my mask with gasoline and a torch then bury it in the ground. I have never hated masks more than I do now. With this pandemic, I hope the world will wake up and stop playing with dangerous things to everyone's health and safety.

I doubt it though, history has a bad habit of repeating it’s self. So all I can say is stay safe, take this seriously, help your fellow man as much as possible and be kind to each other so that all of us can come out on the other side a little wiser.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Nalana Phillips

I am a single mother. I am looking to become a writer and am trying to eventually make a living from it.

I hope you enjoy anything that you read of mine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.