Motivation logo

Letting Go

When life keeps you from flying

By Karimah PeartPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Letting Go
Photo by Dom Aguiar on Unsplash

We try so hard to move but even harder to hold on. We hate the way bad experiences make us feel but can't seem to let go of the actual memory. Life can truly be wicked sometimes. Ever since I was a little girl I have been trying to rid myself of memories that caused me pain. I know deep down, that the pain should be used as fuel to become a wiser person, but what happens when that fuel blows up and creates more damage. Residual trauma is what I call it. The thing that just keeps on giving. As someone who's actively trying to heal from old scars, I've hated the work involved, because it feels never ending and on top of that rewardless, at least for now.

So I often find myself saying "What's the point? Is there one anyway?" My mind tells me "No" and then sometimes my spirit will tell me "Yes". I hate feeling so drawn and torn. Is there a way to move past something without dealing with it? Every professional will tell you "NO". Someone like myself will tell you, "Sure, in your dreams". It is what it is though, right. Not. The fact is at one point all I used to ask for is to forget the trauma I endured and that was my way of solving the issue. However, I realized that wasn't the way to go about it at all because even with forgetting the actual thing the pain is stored in the body. It's stored until further notice and what's that notice, it's healing. Only then can it be fully expelled, fully released from the body. Healing may come from a detox, from people, places or the incident(s) themselves. Detoxing releases old pent up energy and allows for the intake of a new one. It also includes becoming aware. When you are aware, you see yourself differently. You become more of a witness to your undoing and all your battle scars. There's also the need to express. This comes into the form of releasing to someone who creates a safe and comfortable space for you. Some people use their pastor, their sibling, their friend, their parent, aunt/uncle, significant other, animal companion, etc. Also, it's doing a physical cleanse. It's using herbs that will cleanse your body of waste and or going on a fast, which signifies letting go. There's the restoration of healing energy and that's through music, healthy food, new environments, great people (new and old) and new experiences. Any and everything that will bring fresh energy to you. Next is leveling up. Then there's making peace with the old version of yourself and embracing the new one. It's where you sleep better, feel better and have more hopes than doubts, more love than hate, more happiness than sadness, more peace and less anxiety, overall you just have more zest for life, you simply feel you can fly. Then there's forgiveness. Ugh, one of the hardest things to do. I swear. I think this is the final stage of healing because it takes forever to get there. Just saying.

Now, where am I, on any given day? I'm absolutely all over the place. I am struggling with everything. Some days I've felt like I'm making headway and others I'm not. It's so frustrating but in the mist of all this frustration I've learned to have compassion for myself. Some people may think that's just another form of 'self-pitty' but I disagree. As people we should feel empathetic to others and ourselves. When as a society did we decide that compassion and empathy is only for others and not for ourselves? It starts with us. Maybe if we were all first our own best friend, maybe we would lead happy, healthy and centered lives. I'm just saying, there's nothing wrong in speaking your truth. Whatever it may be. Your experience of life matters even if others think it doesn't or it should be kept to yourself.

Give yourself a hug. Wink at yourself when you've just looked in the mirror. Say something beautiful about who you are. Love you baby.

And if you're not there yet, just continue working on it. YOU ARE WORTH IT!!!!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Karimah Peart

I've always had difficulty in being raw and vulnerable but fine and literary art allows me the ability to do so and the process gives me joy. I hope that my art inspires you to do the same and if it does, you try to inspire others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.