Motivation logo

Let’s talk..

I have some things on my mind..

By Read As A DoornailPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I had been debating on making a Vocal account for a while now. For years it seemed like I had been ‘’debating’’ alot of things..

Starting with my career.

(I thought about taking my time in posting this but..screw it. I wanna get these feelings out. So if you decide to stick around even if this post might be a mess- thank you.)

For a while I swore that psychology was what I wanted. Even hearing the people around me praising me for it, swearing that it was what I was meant to do, when in reality I was going for it because I thought ‘’well.. I play armchair therapist to the people around me who can‘t seem to get their own lives together so..may as well get paid for it. Right?’’

Now, don‘t get me wrong, I love psychology. I definitely think that looking into how the human mind operates is very interesting. But, it wasn’t what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. And I’ve never been a people pleaser, or so I thought.

But for some reason, the more encouragement I got from the people around me who- lets be honest, were just using me as a therapist and sucking the life out of me, the more I thought ‘’yep. This is definitely for me.’’

But this year something changed. I’m not sure what changed but, I finally decided that psychology wasn’t what fulfilled me. I don‘t see myself doing it 15 years down the line, or 10, or even 5 years down the line. And it’s not the only thing I enjoy and that I’m good at.

My real passion is writing. Thinking of how reading has helped me open up my imagination, and to mentally escape situations that I saw no end to, makes me want to be that outlet for someone else. And sure, making it into a sustainable career would be a nice bonus.

This year I decided to bite the bullet, fight my anxious thoughts and sign up for a Bachelor’s program in Creative Writing and English.

I won’t lie, I’m a little intimidating. All it takes is getting critique from someone more experienced than you, and it definitely bursts your bubble.

I don’t think I’m amazing at writing necessarily. But I believe I’m good enough.

And I love it. And I’m ready to soak up all there is to learn about it.

If you’ve read this far, thank you so much.

xoxo, Gigi.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Read As A Doornail

hi! My name is Gretchen (Gigi for short). I’m 26 years old, bisexual and disabled, and my passion is writing. So sit back, relax and enjoy my rambles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.