Motivation logo

Learning to Breathe In Peace

Finding peace through music in stressful times.

By Mikhaila WardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Learning to Breathe In Peace
Photo by John Matychuk on Unsplash

We all have our days where we can only take so much or so little. I already have a huge family with a bunch of tiny, little mouths to feed. When covid hit the U.S., it felt as though the one thing I needed to do (which is to provide my kids), I was incapable doing because so many places got shut down. I turned to the two things that I knew would give me some form of strength...my Bible and my music.

(No I’m not some famous artist, but I have sang at Silver Dollar City more than a handful of times back when I was a teenager. So I guess...you could call me an amateur. Haha.)

When I think of music, I think of how I can relate to it or how words of songs can correlate with what’s happening in my current life situation. Typically I write my own songs and copywrite them. It just so happens that in March of 2020, at the same time places were being advised to be shut down for a few months, I had also been told by my PCP that I may have Lupus. Turns out a month later, I am told I have Fibromyalgia with onset lupus symptoms. My world felt like it was falling apart and fast. I turned to songwriting.

I did pray and read books that I thought would give me a peace or some form of answer as to why at almost (at that time) 26 years of age, I had this diagnosis. For some it may not seem like a big deal. However, I have 4 children, all young, so to me it was a big deal. Would I find answers? None. Did I ever get an answer to my “Why?” no, no I did not. And I guess, that’s okay because what I DID find was a joy for music, that I had lost in my late teen years after graduating high school. I found a sense of hope. I found that writing these words and forming these lyrics, releasing the anger and feeling of being completely helpless, helped me enjoy playing music again. The deep feelings we tend to hide from the world can either be release in a healthy way or unhealthy way. When I allowed my emotions to come out into songs, a weight was taken from me.

I’m going to share a video of one of my songs in the video link. Before you view it, I would like to encourage you to find something that will or that has always helped you release stress before, and go do it again. If you use to go to the gym and workout and it brought you joy, but you haven’t done it in a while, start going to the gym again. If you hike and love nature but because of the pandemic you’ve been too afraid to get out, now that mandates are being lifted, get out and get fresh air. If you enjoyed baking but haven’t baked, do it. If you enjoyed kayaking, go kayaking again. My husband has been fishing like CRAZY lately, but it’s how he releases his stress and gains peace through his day. He goes every day now on his lunch. Me, I write songs and play my guitar. I sing and dance with my kids and get them involved. It turns a musky gloomy day into an enjoyable day.

Whatever you need to do to find peace or some form of good vibes in your day, step out and do it. You will not regret it.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Mikhaila Ward

I’m a follower of Christ, a wife, & mom. I love music, God, cooking, fishing. I love hiking and being outdoors. I love a good cup of coffee and a good book. I’m not a fan of Facebook but I do have Instagram @mikhaila_ward.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.