Motivation logo

Learning the True Nature of Growth

"Change is inevitable. Growth is optional." -John C. Maxwell

By Emlyza StudioPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Maturity does not come with age, just as it does not come with days. To be honest, I haven't felt like myself in recent weeks. I felt worse because of what I know to be inaccurate criticism of a person. I let myself drown in feelings I thought I should be feeling in order to make this person feel awful. Weeks passed, and I kept myself occupied on social media, which I rarely did. A quote I read on Facebook stuck with me, "Don't look at the things they couldn't do; instead, embrace the things they could." That was when I learned I shouldn't try to push things to happen. I shouldn't put myself in circumstances that I don't want to be in. And, most importantly, I should refrain from doing so. It seemed to me that others should not be compelled to treat and speak to you in the manner in which you addressed them because if a person really respects you, you shouldn't have to tell them what to do. You shouldn't make someone be as rational as you. To be able to express themselves without hurting anyone's feelings. I discovered that some people can disguise their worries when no one is looking, but I couldn't. When I'm with them, I act accordingly and express my real personality. I've made mistakes and know I've hurt people's feelings, but never to the extent of criticizing someone's parents since I knew I couldn't fully comprehend the situations. Now that I understand the true meaning of growth and how it evolves, I'll continue to learn how to be better and more compassionate. I understand the need of letting go. I think there's one person who will test your patience, but remain believing in yourself that you have the ability to let go and approach them the same way you approach others. It would be difficult, but I know you can do it. Have faith in yourself at all times. Never overlook the fact that he is there to guide you.

Breakdowns, heartaches, and sleepless nights are all part of the process of growth. Discomfort is a part of our growth. I think it's what makes us more human. When you're in discomfort, you'll learn to be able to cope. Learning to live with discomfort is a must, and soon you'll be able to see why you had to take that path. All of this, in my opinion, is an essential part of our development. You can't really progress if you don't accept the realities around you. You must forgive yourself and begin to accept the situation as it is. Accept a person for who they are. You have to go with the flow. You'll know that no matter how difficult the road becomes, you should never give up. You can't just change someone, so just accept them as they are. Accept everything they have to offer. Accept what they might be capable of. Only then you can be comfortable, without worrying about whether or not people will appreciate your efforts. It will be less difficult to live.

Dear young lady,

I'm telling you it's not good for your well-being. It's not worthy of your energy. Start accepting the way things are and keep on learning from every aspect of your life. When situations are difficult, let it be but don't focus on it. Nothing will be worth it more than being happy. Growth lets you thrive. You have to face challenges to be the best version of yourself. Growth is about learning, not impressing or seeking approval. For me, it's my way to continuously cultivate my well-being. Life is a learning process. You have to set yourself free from your fears and anxiety. Take in mind that growth doesn't happen in your comfort zone.

Pain strengthen us, it makes us more human. Pain is the way to cope and survive in a bad situation.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Emlyza Studio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.