Motivation logo

Knowing Your Value

The audacity of authenticity

By The Breatharian BloggerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Where would you rank yourself on a scale of 1 to 10? Would you say that you are average or above normal? To rank yourself at all would be a comparison. Comparison can be the thief of all joy. They say that imitation is the greatest form of flattery. But there is no better alternative for authenticity. In a world where many are trying to be like everyone else, does it become harder or easier to value yourself?

I can recall younger days when I used to go clubbing at different parties and events. There was a time where I'd find myself inside of a club surrounded by dancers. I would usually keep to myself and find my own space. Neither feeling alone nor feeling a part of the crowd.

One day a man stopped me in the middle of the dance floor. We had never met each other before, but he had noticed my shirt. He saw that I had buttoned it all the way up to the top. This had been my style for a while. As he walked towards me, he took a hand and motioned over to my top button. When I did not take the hint, he then proceeded to unbutton the top of my shirt himself.

I guess he was telling me that I should show some skin or not be so uptight. He then stepped back, gave me a quick once over, and a thumbs up as if to say, "That's better." In the moment he turned and walked away, I had buttoned my shirt back to the top.

An original is worth more than a copy

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

In that moment, it didn't matter what anyone else thought about me. It didn't matter that this gentleman thought I looked better with my shirt unbuttoned. I liked it to the top. I still do to this day. I have a message for you my friend. I once heard a quote from Tai Lopez.

"In your book of life, let no man hold the pen."

I implore you to always hold the pen in your book of life. I urge you to let no man or woman dictate how you should live. Don't allow others to have say or sway over your actions. The way you live. The way you dress and display yourself. The only one who knows what it's like to be you is you.

An original will always be worth more than a copy. This concept changed my life. I remember hearing that, in 2016, the painting of Mona Lisa was said to be worth over six hundred million dollars. Over six hundred million dollars for one painting. I know what you're thinking, that's quite a fortune! The issue is not how much the painting is valued, but why is it valued at that amount? What makes that painting from the 1500s worth that much? The answer is simple. Because someone said it is.

Someone placed that amount of value on that painting. That's it plain and simple. Someone said this painting is worth this much and no lower. My friend, what value will you place on your life? Because remember, an original is worth more than a copy. What value will you attribute to your successes, your projects, your dream? What value will you give to your body, your mind, and spirit? Have you ever asked how much you value yourself?

If you were an item in a store, how much would you be worth? Five, ten, or one hundred dollars? Better yet, could you not be sold? Would you instead have no price at all? Would you be priceless?

“Your value doesn’t decrease based on someone’s inability to see your worth.” ~Anonymous

Others may speak on your worth, but they will never determine your value. Before your days are done, it will be you who has the last say on your life. If you're the kind of person I think you are, I know it will be worth something great. But at the end of the day, my friend, that's up for you to decide.

Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @jromeshaw

Thank you for taking the time to read this article, my friend. If you resonated with this, why not drop a tip as it encourages me to continue creating new content! Your support is greatly appreciated!

self help
Like

About the Creator

The Breatharian Blogger

Here to inspire you on your journey. ✊🏾

Connect with me on IG @jromeshaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.