Motivation logo

Just Be You

Ignore hate, embrace love

By Martin AhrensPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Just Be You
Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

I have casually been working on an article about how I pulled off starting a business during the pandemic. That was until earlier today when I encountered an internet troll. I try to stay off of socials as much as possible, and when I post I attempt to always put something positive out there. Today, I found myself defending my life choices to someone who had anger driven by envy. I knew better than to entertain ignorance but, for a moment I indulged. The topic was dropping out of school, something I had done as a teenager. My goal was to provide encouragement to any person reading, that anything really is possible.

I found myself shaking from nerves as I awaited the response in the comment section. That is when I realized just how out of touch I had gotten in such a short time. I wanted to delete this platform from my life, but instead I chose to step away and ground myself. Through meditating I realized that no message would be heard in that comment section, however I have a perfect place to do this and without trolls or repercussions. For that I am grateful for Vocal and the opportunities they provide.

By Xan Griffin on Unsplash

From the time I first began following my dreams, there was always somebody there to tell me I won't make it. After it became clear I was "making" it, it seemed the number of people around me that wanted me to fail grew even larger. My circle grew smaller and smaller, but the quality of people in my circle became something I wasn't used to. (I honestly think, that one person I had in my corner from the beginning was my saving grace because so many wanted me to fail).

My point is, just follow your heart, your dreams. Ignore the outside noise, but allow the good to come in. It took me over 30 years to finally do something with my life, as we all travel our paths at different paces.

By Thomas Oxford on Unsplash

I have failed at almost everything in my life and the best advice ever given to me is just two words, "keep going." If my business had failed what would the outcome have been? Simple, I would have gone back to work and lived just like before. With that being said, I am a worrier, so I had a plan b, c, d and e just in case.

When someone attacks you on social, just know that you occupy space in their head. This means that you are so important, that someone has to take a piece of their time here on earth and simply give it to you. That right there is worth more than gold.

Just know that I believe in you, even if you do not believe in yourself just yet. There is nothing you cannot do, and the people that tell you otherwise do not carry your best interest at heart.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.