Motivation logo

Just Another Day at the Office

Trials and Tribulations of Everyday Life

By Holly CallowPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photographer Harry Callow (skyscrapers in Baltimore)

From a young age, we are often asked what it is we want to be when we grow up. As innocent and sometimes funny as that question might be, it is not always an easy one to answer, especially when you're not 5. Here I am, 20 years old, not in school, working my ass off to make my rent every month, and I have no idea were I'm going next. As much as it is great to plan for the future; in reality that detailed step by step plan is going to go exactly *well* to plan. That's okay. Life happens, shit happens, you fall in and out of love, and you live.

August 17, 2017 started just like any other day; I stopped at 7-Eleven to get my french vanilla coffee on my way to work. From there, I traveled grumpily to work as I did every other day.

But, it was far from a regular day.

Before the work day had finished, I had joined the not so elite club of the unemployed.

This could have not happened at a worse time. I had nothing to fall back on, I was about to move in less than two weeks and I had several huge trips in the not so distant future that were rushing towards me. I however, am fortunate enough to live in a city of opportunity and had an amazing group of friends to rely on. But in that very moment, despite being in the center of a busy office, I could not have felt more alone.

Here are a few things I learnt from this unexpected turn of events:

  1. You can be completely blindsided; I really didn't have the faintest idea that this was going to happen. In my brief but multiple professions, I have learnt to be prepared for everything and anything. It is important to remember that things change; priorities, management, habits, and sometimes you can get caught in the crossfire.
  2. It's okay to be upset; I subconsciously went straight to writing, for a good old vent, for some sort of guidance, and for support. I am very good at bottling up what I am feeling, but that just isn't healthy. It's important to talk about what you are feeling and to remember it won't always feel like this.
  3. Everything will be okay in the end; the last thing you want to hear, if you are reading this and are in a similar situation is, "you'll be okay." But honestly, you will be. I know that, no matter what happens, I will pick myself up, dust myself off and continue on a stronger and wiser version of myself.

Today I am upset, but tomorrow is another day. Apply for every dead end job, get that degree, do what you need to in order to figure out the next step, and if you don't, have fun trying. Sometimes the thing you need isn't what you set out looking for to begin with. A year ago, I didn't know who I was, I didn't know what I wanted for dinner most nights. Now, I know who I want to become, who I aspire to be. None of this would have happened if I hadn't began being lost, if I hadn't lost that job.

I guess what I am trying to say is: as much as it is disheartening not knowing what's next, despite it seeming as though everyone around you might, you're not alone. It takes time; love the journey, it will work out in the end and you might even discover something about yourself along the way.

So happy travels.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Holly Callow

Born and raised in a small seaside town outside London, UK. Has loved to write, travel & eat from a young age. Will write about anything and everything from politics to corgis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.