Motivation logo

Just a writer.

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun...

By Kristiana ShkurtiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credits to Jacek Borkowski

It all began when my mother brought me my first book ‘’The Adventures of Tom Sawyer’’ when I was 8-9 years old. As I had just learned how to read and becoming accustomed to it, my mother thought that it would help me to not only be better at reading but also to broaden my horizons and engross the brilliant world of literature. As mentioned previously my first book was ‘’The Adventures of Tom Sawyer’’ I still remember how excited my mother was to bring me that book as she was as well a great fan of literature, me being the ordinary young child I started acting unreasonably and getting upset that my mother would make me read my homework again; but when I first took the book in my hands and ran my fingers through the old pages of it, I started getting excited and happy. The story began and my mind and soul was completely focused on Tom Sawyer’s adventures. I managed to finish the book in 2 days since I was so engaged in the plot and when I did finish I was fascinated by so many things. First of all, by my ability to just recreate what I was reading and imagine it, I felt like I was directing my own little movie. Secondly, how attached I had grown to the main character, as when the book finished I got sad and didn’t want to say goodbye to his adventures and his personality that was full of braveness and mischief. Finally, the way that I got jealous of Mark Twain and wondered how he succeeded in writing such a great book that motivated me to start writing. The same evening I took out my little pink notebook, and i started writing short childish stories. I would go around and have this proud smile and tell people ``I am a writer``. Time passed rather quickly, and i found myself nostalgic of how reckless, proud and clueless i was. I started drifting away from writing, I started having this ideas that I was bad at it. Time passed. Until that summer evening... I was walking around in the town of Mykonos without paying attention on where i was going when i came across a small church, in front of it it had a small garden and you could see the whole town and even the old harbor of Mykonos. The view was breathtaking. The majestic orange warm sun positioned in the middle of the sky that was clear from clouds. The sea was calm, you could hear the distant sounds of the waves. The sun was reflecting on the refreshing salty surface,as it started going down as if it wanted to dive in the sea, the sky's orange from the sun started fading and a dark blue started appearing. Before you know it the sun has dissipated and in seconds it was replaced by the full bright moon along with his fellow yellow stars. I could feel the reviving air blow slightly to my face. The sea remained still, i was full of ideas and creativity and I knew then and there that I had to start writing again.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.