Motivation logo

It's Okay to Get Lost. It'll Save You

At least, it saved me.

By Taylor GPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I graduated from high school, I thought I had a clear-cut idea of how life was going to be. I'd go to college, meet new people, and come out of my shell. I would ditch the introverted, shy exterior and make loads of new friends. It would be the year I learned to drive and become independent. It would be my year. And in a strange, painful twist of fate, it has been.

I graduated high school a year ago, but I could not tell you who I was even twelve months ago. After the night I donned a cap and gown, waved goodbye to the school that shaped my teenage years, my life flipped upside down. Without warning, I was suddenly living states away from my mother with a father I didn't know. And I went to college. I made friends. I even kissed my first boy.

But I wasn't happy.

Yes, I realize that these years are filled with growing pains and that's the point. Everyone tells you that college will be a defining experience, but it wasn't going to school that shaped me. I fell in love and got my heart broken. I lost friends. I even got betrayed by the very parents I was trying to get to know. Better yet, I was blamed for it, as if somehow emotional cruelty is ever a child's fault, no matter their age.

Then the semester ended and I took a leap. I went to see my mother for what was only meant to be a weekend, and in the end turned into months. For the first time since August, I felt self. But I still wasn't happy. Instead, I was frustrated; at the world, at everyone I knew, but more severely, I was angry at myself. I had heard all of these great things about how my life was going to change after graduation and here I was, sleeping on a couch and crying every night because I didn't know what I wanted.

Suddenly, my life no longer felt like mine.

In all the time I was gone, the people I had left behind never reached out to me. Other than my mom, I was alone. It was the scariest feeling I had ever had after a lifetime of being scared.

And then I got to make the decision for myself: what did I want to do? What did I want my life to be? I could either stay with my mother, feeling safe but otherwise being pretty unhappy...or I could take a blind leap into a city I didn't know, to live with a friend I'd only just gotten to know. There was no clear cut path if I went out on my own. But I did.

I'll admit, moving with only a few suitcases of my belongings was scary. Being somewhere new and once again being alone was a terrifying feeling.

It was the best decision I've ever made.

Moving gave me freedom I didn't expect. I still felt utterly lost and frustrated, but I still felt safe. That's something I can't explain. It was, and still is, a wonderful feeling. But it's come with its own set of growing pains. What I want to do with my life, how I accomplish it, and everything in between is now on me. Learning to love myself and how to be alone has felt almost cripplingly impossible, but it isn't.

When I took the leap to live with my roommate, to go out on my own, I did something I never in my young life expected to do. I jumped all in without any idea of what was waiting for me. And I found a best friend, not only in the girl I share a home with, but in myself. For the first time, I realized that I never knew myself before. And as I learned more, I started to like the person that I was. I learned the greatest lesson I ever could:

This is the best version of me. And she'll only keep growing.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Taylor G

I'm on the weird journey of self discovery that is growing up. Finding new ways to laugh every day is magic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.