Motivation logo

It's A New Year And I'm The Same Me.

How I plan To Actually Grow This Year Compared To The Years Passed

By Blue DymondPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
It's A New Year And I'm The Same Me.
Photo by Oliver Cole on Unsplash

The new year is here again and I'm still the same today as I was yesterday. Yeah, I've grown in some ways but not enough in the ways that actually matter. Like most people, when creating my new years resolution I stick to it for about a week or two and then it magically disappears into thin air like it never existed; Or if I designated an accountability person I hide from them until I feel its safe to show my face without them questioning my so called resolutions.

Well, this year I plan to change that and I plan to make my goals more attainable. I usually list humongous goals that are hard to achieve like write a whole novel, buy a house, lose 50 pounds. Things that are not impossible, just out of my realm of reality at the moment. So here are my top 3 attainable goals for this year.

1.) Eat Healthier And Drink MORE Water

Okay, so the old me would've had a whole plan on eating only salad and drinking only water for the entire year. I can tell you again, while not impossible, its just not happening for me. I love me a little tea or wine every now again and eating only salad is just plain insane, for me.

So, instead of the extreme only water and salad diet, I plan to be more mindful of what I put into my body. One definite way of ensuring this is making it to where only 1 of my meals during the day be mostly green. Whether it be spinach eggs in the morning, chicken salad for lunch, or Beef and broccoli for dinner. (I said mostly green)

I think starting off small and simple this way will eventually make it to where it becomes easier to add more and more healthy choices in forms of food.

As for water, I found this cup on Amazon that has little affirmations as you drink and thought it was just perfect. So, I plan to still drink whatever I want as long as I also finish that jug everyday. See, its still a win win.

1 Gallon Water Bottle From Amazon

2.) Be More Organized

Fresh Prince Of Bel-Air

I am horrible. Plain and simple. I clutter everything on dresser tops, fresh clothes stay in the laundry basket unfolded for days before I get to them, and there's buckets of "important things" that I haven't even looked at in months. Its a bad habit that I'm finally understanding needs to be broken. After years of blaming being a single working mom of 2 boys I'm realizing that not only have I been running from accountability but that everything is a clutter because it needs a place. I am completely unorganized which in turn makes my boys unorganized. While we aren't laying around in filth we do tend to just drop our jackets or shoes in the first place we see when we walk through the door. (I know I know bad parenting. Hey new year new changes though right?)

"You cant reach for anything new if you're holding on to yesterday's junk"

-Louise Smith

"Clutter is nothing more than postponed decisions."

-Unknown

This year I actually plan to get rid of all things that we don't need, want, or use. I'm going to begin by donating, or throwing away, 5 things each month. While its more than enough time to give me the fresh start that's needed its also a steady start compared to my previous years resolutions of "I'm going to donate all my furniture, throw away everything, and start over".

As a person that suffers from anxiety, decluttering my home life will, hopefully, in turn help declutter my mind.

3.) Walk As Much As Possible

I know, for some you're like, well duh, but for me, this is a big deal. Im that person that trolls the shopping center for 20 minutes waiting for a park up front. I used to be extremely active always participating in sports, running around with my kids, or just constantly on the move. However, ever since this pandemic started I've gained over 40 pounds. Add that to the fact I have a new job that's completely sedentary and I'm completely working from home, then, you have the recipe for disaster.

I've tried every quick diet scheme there is from intermittent fasting to juicing but it all tumbles down to lifestyle change. I can do all those things all I want but if I return to my chair munching on Doritos my whole shift and then get off to go sit on the couch, watch a movie, and munch some more, then nothing changes.

Old me would've chosen this time to say "I'm going to work out every day and make sure to hit the gym at minimum 3 times a week". Yeah, that's not happening. I know it's not and I'm sure y'all know its not too. Instead, I plan to walk more. Whether it be walking around the park while my kids are playing instead of sitting on the bench, parking a bit further to get some steps in, or just taking a lap around my apartments on my break at work. something is always better than nothing and I believe that just getting myself back used to moving again will lead me back to my active lifestyle.

While these goals are on the smaller scale, compared to my previous ones, I do believe they will make the biggest impact on my life. I'm excited to have attainable goals to run to and strive for when thinking about my future happiness and overall well being instead of using food as a filler.

Author's Note: If you like what you read don't forget to hit the heart down below and/0r leave a tip. Thanks for reading.

goals
2

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.