Motivation logo

Is Self-Care Important?

Life

By Christine WPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

“Self-care” was such an unknown term to me and then self-care was the new fad in social media, then my interest grew.

Self-care is not only about having spa days and facials, but it is also for addressing toxic recurring thoughts.

I think self-care should be in everybody's life because we should treat ourselves with more kindness, love, and realize that your body and mind is capable of many great things.

Self-care has many benefits including the ability to handle stress, mentally and physically. You become more empathetic, it gives more alone time for yourself, and it creates a calming feeling towards your state of peace of mind.

In society and specifically in 2020, it focused on women mostly, but men also should practice self-care. They are still people who need to care for themselves as well.

Personally, I love exercising, it's a healthy way for me to connect my body and soul. It makes me feel strong and I believe I look better afterward as well. Meditation; specifically yoga, helps lower my anxiety and is excellent for helping me through the COVID-19 isolation. Sleep is extremely important for the body and mind. I realized that feeding my body and listening to my mind when it's hungry is treated by taking food in moderation and alternately indulging, depending on my mood. Going outside helps alleviate my stress and anxiety as it helps me feel energized. My cat, Jasper is great at comforting me and boosting my mood, especially the sound of his purring when I pet him while he sits on my lap. I love writing and listening to music and find this to be very therapeutic as well. I play the guitar and just started playing the ukulele; it helps me be creative and relaxed. Poetry is something I enjoy and is great for expressing my emotions. I love to read books about “self-care” because it gives me a different outlook on how I can control my life. Knowing I have control over my routines and practices has created a new mindset for me. Gaining control of your mental health is important and focusing on improving yourself through your personalized practices of self-care. Self-care is a belief I focus on in my daily life. On my blogs, I try to help people create more time for things they love. Self-care has helped me with my mental health, and I think everyone should practice self-care in their routines. Focus on living not just existing

Self-care ideas:

  • Take a shower or soak in a hot bath
  • Use essential oils (lavender, rose,bergamot)
  • Care for your feet, give them a soak
  • Face masks
  • Take care of your nails, clean them, paint them
  • Workout
  • Bake something
  • Go outside
  • Put your favorite clothes on
  • Call a friend
  • Play an instrument
  • Organize
  • Clean
  • Binge watch your favorite shows
  • Read a new book
  • Meditate
  • Listen to music
  • Draw
  • Garden
  • Study a new language
  • Create a blog
  • Focus on your breathing
  • Eat at LEAST 3 meals a day

These are some ideas to try out!

Everyone should practice self-care. It helps create love for oneself and I hope you learn to appreciate yourself and what you are capable of doing!

Acceptance, improvement, reading, forgiveness, creativity, laughing

Remember:

  • You have control over yourself
  • You are enough
  • Never too late to be who you want to be
  • Its okay to struggle
  • Your marks do not define you
  • You are loved
  • Love your imperfections
  • Grow from your mistakes
  • Hydrate, Drink your water

From some extra ideas for tips and tricks for self-care, Student life network has been a great resource for myself and I definitely recommend it!

Resources:

https://blog.studentlifenetwork.com/category/covid-19/

https://blog.studentlifenetwork.com/2020/03/27/self-care-routines-you-can-do-at-home/

https://blog.studentlifenetwork.com/2020/03/19/maintaining-sanity-social-distancing/

Sending good vibes

self help
Like

About the Creator

Christine W

Proud tree hugger

Music lover

skincare fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.