Motivation logo

Is It Bad I Still Don’t Know What I Want To Be When I Grow Up?

After two decades of writing online, I still haven’t identified my career end goal. And I don’t think that’s a bad thing, either.

By Chrissie Marie MasseyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Is It Bad I Still Don’t Know What I Want To Be When I Grow Up?
Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

As I approach the young age of 50, I am reminded I haven’t accomplished half of the things I wanted to. Twenty years ago, I thought I’d have several novels written, and a slew of blogs under my belt. But I don’t. Instead, I am a 46-year-old blogger who barely makes $200 a month writing on Medium and Vocal Media.

There are days when I still want to write a novel. Other days, I am content being a blogger. I am still working toward something. What, I am not sure, but I am STILL writing.

My husband pushes me to write my novel. In his mind, a book would make more money than writing online. I am not convinced of that. I have made $8,893 since October 2021, writing on Medium and Vocal Media. I do not think a debut novel would pay me close to that, even if I landed a traditional publisher with a book advance.

Aside from my career goals, I have personal goals in mind, too. If I am too wrapped up in my writing aspirations, I won’t focus on my personal goals. I refuse to let that happen.

Personal Goals

I spent half my life in a toxic relationship. It wasn’t good for either of us, and it cost me more than time. I lost myself in trying to live in a miserable marriage. I hated myself and it showed. I didn’t know how to get out and start living a better life.

Eventually, I found my voice, and I told my ex-husband I wanted out. It took courage on my part because he was the typical manipulator. I was half excited when I learned he found a new partner. That meant he wouldn’t ask me for another chance or make trouble for me anymore.

Living in a toxic marriage was taxing to my body. I gained 50 pounds. I still carry that weight to this day. One of my personal goals is to shed the weight and exercise regularly.

I am not looking to be super fit and model ready. I just want to feel good in my skin and look good in a swimming suit. It’s really that simple.

By Bram Naus on Unsplash

Aside from my weight loss goal, I want to learn how to garden. I tried last year and failed. So, this next spring, I will try again. Maybe this time, I will succeed and grow a tomato.

Career Goals

My career goals are much more complicated. I know I want to be a writer, that much I know. However, I toggle between wanting to grow a blogging empire to writing short stories/novels. I guess I could do both — no rule against that!

Last year, I enrolled in college with the plan to get a paralegal degree. I wanted to help others, and I thought working in law would be a perfect fit for me. But I didn’t like it. It was stressful and there was so much paperwork.

I made the painful decision to quit school and reevaluate my career goals once again. And it brought me back to writing. Blogging is my happy place. I don’t think I would ever stop writing on Medium/Vocal Media. I just love the fact I can write out 600–1200 words, edit, and publish in just a few hours. Writing a novel could take me a year or more.

My new career goal is to write daily. Some days I know I will write several stories. Other days, I might only publish one story. And that’s okay. I just need to be more consistent in publishing.

By Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Will I ever be a top 10 Medium /Vocal Media writer? Probably not, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have something valuable to say and my stories are worth less than one of the great writers.

In closing, I hope publishing more often will increase my income, even if just by a few dollars a day. I will do my part by reading and commenting on other writers’ stories. It’s important for us writers to support each other.

I think I am doing pretty well for someone who doesn’t know what she wants to be when she grows up. Thankfully, I got some time — I am only 46!

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Share your thoughts in the comments section below. Don’t forget to follow me to read more of my stories.

Originally published on Medium: https://chrissiemassey1023.medium.com/is-it-bad-i-still-dont-know-what-i-want-to-be-when-i-grow-up-f03d9c19ce7e

goals
1

About the Creator

Chrissie Marie Massey

Chrissie has spent the last 20 years writing online for several major news outlets. When not writing, you’ll find her watching a Lifetime movie, wearing her favorite PJs with a frozen soda in hand.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.