Motivation logo

I wrote this at 17.

I think differently now.

By Gi RameyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

This personal statement consists of several passages which define my cultural, visceral, and academic being.

1. I must be the change I wish to implement. My five year old brother, Donnie, taught me this. As the soft big sister, I've never been able to justify certain discipline methods. Yelling and punishing don't suit me, nor my baby brother. After watching encounters between my other siblings and Donnie, I had realized that answering to destruction with destruction only hindered any broken condition. It feels as if with that epiphany, I'd awoken and had climbed to a new level of enlightenment. Parents, and community members must lead by example. How could I expect the kid to save his candy until after dinner if I didn't do so myself?

I'm set on bringing this philosophy to campus.

We define ourselves to the world by what we do in intense situations. It is not the materials we are given, but what we do with them that creates art. Within challenges posed on campus, I will work collectively to advocate and execute acceptance in order to create a peaceful, productive, and deep atmosphere. Rather than rioting for change where I deem necessary, I will take in information given to me, and strategize effective ways to incept ideas of unity, development, and infinite creation. Those around me will witness my unending effort to be the change; to build upon and fight for ideas of unity, development, and infinite creation within core relations, as well as classrooms.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2. "It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be."

-Albus Dumbledore

On a personal, as well as collective level, my life's ultimate goal is growth. I wish to enlighten and be enlightened as I progress into this open world around me. Possibilities are endless, and I feel as if the road I travel will only broaden and stretch itself around my visceral development.

If selected as a Daniel's Scholar, and even if not, I will strive to grow and aid growth around me. I understand that a lot will be on my shoulders if selected. As he established this scholarship fund, Mr. Daniels left a legacy of philanthropy and humanitarianism, and I am inspired and eager to continue this. Beyond college, I will seek to unify and support my surrounding community via the advocation and practice of true peace. I will stand up for what's right, and nothing less: ever. I will practice what I preach. I will work towards balance, within myself and my given atmosphere.

A legacy of passion will blanket the Daniel's Fund if I am fortunate enough to be granted the opportunity to place it there. A reputation of working towards infinite growth will accompany me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3. Of all values, there is one I deem as the golden center point of my morals. This, essentially, is what I consider to be the root of all value: balance. Recently, my father bought me a copy of Machiavelli's The Prince. The work, which highlights the philosophy of power, suggests that having a round character, experience, and mindset creates keys for success. We must speak as much as we listen, consume only as much as we create, explore as much as we study, teach as much as we learn. Success through balance was the goal of the Prince, which I have learned also leads to my own success. I've found myself living and leading with this awareness in the forefront of my mind.

If I had to choose a base for my ideal character, it would be balance; as from it stems light and dark, man and woman, sun and moon, love and hate, life and death. There would be no room for a factor without its counterpart. I couldn't choose a route of honesty if lies did not exist along a road of adolescence. I could not prove my loyalty if there was no standard of disloyalty. The sun could not wake me up in the morning if there was no moon sending me to sleep each night. I could not practice humility if there was no hubris to oppose.

Balance stands as my chi -- the unspoken root of humanity and ethics.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4. In my journey as a leader, I've been inspired by many iconic figures; Che, Gandhi, John Adams, Machiavelli, Confucius, Bob Marley. Without a doubt, had I answered this question months ago, one of those historically significant names would have been chosen. Yet, surprisingly, I feel I’m changing how I see my world and community.

For years, I remember avoiding Nahome Tesfay. The same kid who pushed me to fury in political debates in geography class started approaching me, asking me to join the speech and debate team. In the halls, during lunch, in between classes, I could not escape what I then considered harassment. Surprisingly, I now realize that Nahome Tesfay, valedictorian of our class this year, has had a tremendous impact on my leadership capabilities.

Called a prodigious social outcast among my peers, I can't help but to look up to him. Nahome is always honest, whether the truth hurts or not, he is clear with himself and with others. He molds himself into his surroundings, making sure everyone feels included, and he leads us. Just by being around Nahome, I’ve been pushed to never settle. Even when I explained that debate just wasn’t my calling, he dismissed my excuse and continued to push me. The trait of self-motivation and inclusive group appreciation, which he holds dear, inspires me to never allow myself, nor those who I lead, to surrender ethics due to fear, simple desires or ego.

And I owe a great deal of this to Nahome Tesfay.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.