Motivation logo

I Want To Change My Life. Where To Start Tomorrow?

You wake up one morning and realize that that’s enough, you need to change something. Have you ever had this?

By Michail BukinPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
I Want To Change My Life. Where To Start Tomorrow?
Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

We all go through this stage, some earlier, some later. The main thing is not to let the impulse go down the toilet. After all, behind it lies the unknown, interesting, something that will lead to incredible results, which you definitely do not expect from yourself.

“I want to change my life” — this topic is discussed by everyone: psychologists, coaches, workers. Everyone is looking for something unique and their own. Someone suggests getting up earlier, playing sports, changing your diet. Someone — to thank life, keep a journal of success, see the positive. Others talk about acceptance and self-love, about how not to devalue what you have.

Yes, it really works, and helps to change something in life: shift focus, improve physical health and, as a result, feel pleasure at a hormonal level. But all this, if not built into a habit, turns into a strict diet, after which a breakdown and a rollback.

I propose to study this issue from a different angle, to start from depth.

True motivation.

The desire to change everything, most likely, indicates that you are not going your own way or have gone astray. At this moment, you lose the main thing — motivation and desire to move forward.

How do you know where your true motivation is? Why is it so important to change direction? What happens when you find inspiration?

All of this is honest self-talk. When we answer the questions of the upper logical levels — “Who am I?”, “What do I bring to the world?”, “What is my value for myself and others?”, “Why is it important?” and moves forward.

I worked for a large international company. And at some point, I noticed that every morning when I go to work, I feel the heaviness and meaninglessness of this event. I felt that time seemed to slip through my fingers, and I didn’t seem to live, but I was. I’m not living my life. And then I set aside a time when no one could bother me, turned off the phone, and was left alone with myself, questions and paper.

I recommend writing these questions down and leaving room for answers. At each step, meditate a little and plunge into yourself. Write everything that goes, any information.

Below are my answers for an example.

Who am I?

I am human, loving, joyful, different. I can be firm, purposeful, confident in masculine manifestations, I can be soft, flexible, fluid, in the flow of feminine manifestations. And it’s all about me. I want to use my talents and knowledge for good. I feel when connected with purpose, I am filled and harmonious.

What am I bringing to the World?

I inspire people to live happy life, to be themselves, and enjoy it.

What is my value to myself and others?

I can hear and listen, I can isolate what is really important and what leads to the transformation of the soul. I am in trust in the universe! And I know that each of us already has the resources for any accomplishment. The transformation is inevitable. I create a space of safety where everyone can open up and be heard.

Why is it important?

When I move along my path, I feel significant and needed. I bring light. I am inspired and fulfilled, and the people around me feel the same way. It is important for me to give love, filling the world outside and inside. I feel whole.

Inspiration.

When we have dealt with the previous point, inspiration appears. This is a state where ideas are born, one after another. As if wings were growing behind my back. And everything turns out easily and freely. At this stage, no one can break you. And you really feel like a wizard. The feeling of fear of the new and unknown, like adrenaline, moves forward.

I decided to leave the company. To nowhere, just to hear yourself and go deeper into yourself. I began to pay attention to what was happening around me, to see and hear the proposals of the Universe. Less than a week later, two projects flew in related to my organizational talents and skills. I got carried away.

I suggest this method for each of you. Any idea or thought, no matter how strange it may seem, should be written down in a notebook or diary. Gather friends or people close to you, brainstorm about where you can realize yourself. It is important here not to include internal criticism in the first steps, but to trust and listen to all options, even if there is resistance or fear. When you hear something that resonates, you will understand. At this moment, do not waste time, start acting!

Passion.

The stage is about introducing new things into life. Morning. Today is not at all what it was yesterday. You seem to wake up, and the day of the groundhog is behind you. This is the time when you start to be creative about any challenge. You are full of energy and passion. Any solution to a problem or problem brings pleasure and enjoyment. You are at your peak. Not getting tired, but enjoying.

The most enjoyable stage. You are so involved that nothing can break. Feel free to attract partners for a project or business. Start talking about yourself. Let the world know who you really are.

Exercise: Every day, find at least one person who does not yet know that you have changed the field of activity. Declare yourself, tell what benefits it will bring. Share your passion.

Commitment.

Life is cyclical. We cannot always be at our peak. Gradually, the motivation falls, and the belief that everything will work out disappears. At this point, show commitment to your solution, project, and the changes you choose. Or go back to the first point and remember why you are doing all this.

Remember the feeling you experienced when answering the question: “Why is this important?” Trust yourself, listen to yourself, be in the flow — these are valuable skills for a person. It reveals you and the environment, gives the long-awaited results. Belief in a project in all situations, commitment to a solution is important aspects when changing life.

Be prepared that people will gather around who will not support you. These can be the closest ones and relatives, whose opinion is very valuable. Remember why you are doing this. And when you feel that you are losing motivation, go back to the first paragraph and answer again to the question “Why is this important?”

The stage of commitment is the most difficult, but if you go through it, you will feel a solid core and support inside you.

Actions.

The final stage of transformation and transformation in action. What are you willing to do to change the world? What actions have you already taken? What will you do in the near future? This is about the art of completing projects and moving to a new level of development.

Each stage will be more powerful than the previous one, each round of events will go through one scenario. Which scenario will you choose?

I propose to summarize what has already been done in writing. The important thing here is to keep the focus on what you get:

  • Write down at least ten points about what you are proud of now and are grateful to yourself.
  • Write down at least five points that can be improved. Here is your development.
  • Take these five points, write down on them a plan of action for the future: month, three months, year.

Keep moving, don’t stop. My favorite quote from Alice in Wonderland:

“You need to run as fast just to stay in place, but to get somewhere, you need to run at least twice as fast!”

I want to change my life. Take it and change it!

Summing up, I would like to draw your attention to the main thing: you are the author of your life. A banal phrase, but true. If you live with the attitude: “I created this situation”, be aware and responsible for every step, then you can turn into a magician. And the wizard knows that any situation is in the zone of vision and control: either influence it or change your attitude towards it.

I propose not to put off life until tomorrow and think right now what little three steps you will take right now.

self help
1

About the Creator

Michail Bukin

Creative Writing Expert and Ambitious Stutterer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.