Motivation logo

I'll Be Roaring In the 20s

Reflections for the New Year

By Paige GraffunderPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Billy Huynh on Unsplash

A lot of things have happened this past year, and the next year is looking to be just as eventful, and I was feeling kind of nostalgic and wistful, and also resolved, so I thought I would do a little recap, and speak some of my wishes into the world, in hopes they materialize.

A lot happened in 2019. Some of it fantastically good, some of it fantastically bad. I lost the house I had been living in for years, I quit two jobs that were not conducive to my mental health and general happiness. I started one that I love and am well suited for. I met some of the best friends I have ever had. I spent a summer living in the heart of the international district while slumming it on a friend's couch. I made giant strides toward healing myself. I went to therapy. I was open about my mental health, my flaws, and failures. I continued to build a healthy relationship. I witnessed my beloved Sounders take home their second MLS cup, and at that perfect match, I got engaged to my perfect match. I saw the death of my grandfather.

I have repaired connections with the family I was born into, and been accepted into more than one family that I chose. I moved into a beautiful house with my love, and two of the very best people the world could ever conceive of. I paid off my car, and one of my student loans. I also have been so depressed that I couldn't breathe. I have strengthened my ties with the communities I am a part of, and joined some new ones. I have started a podcast, and had a blast, and I started writing a new book in a way that is new and terrifying and also really exciting. I have made time for me to enjoy things. I have started new traditions with old friends, and fallen into bed laughing, half drunk, and buzzing with elation. I reconnected with my best friend from middle school.

I have also raised my fist in protest. I have shouted in anger, and I have witnessed my country commit terrible crimes against humanity. I have watched otherwise decent people turn and look away rather than fight. I have watched the rise of fascism come again, in the US, but also in the UK, and other countries as well. All in all 2019 was a year the like of which I have never seen.

Here are some of my hopes for 2020:

I hope for peace. I hope for a woman president. I hope that humanity starts to take climate science seriously. I hope that we begin to lead the world with compassion and intelligence. I hope that the camps are liberated. I hope for revolution, for change, for uprising. I hope for love, and understanding, and the eradication of fascism. I hope to see more women and PoC in leadership roles. I hope to see Mitch McConnell ousted. I hope that all my friends that are getting married in 2020 will be happy and successful. I hope that the dreams of my friends come true. I hope that my dear friend gets the kidney they need.

I hope that we radically reform the health care system in the US, and stop gate keeping vital services with paywalls that the poor can't ever hope to overcome. I hope Jeff Bezos is forced to pay taxes. I hope I find a way to make time for myself. I hope that my relationship will continue to grow in love and laughter, and comfort. I hope that my mental health continues to improve. I hope that I don't fall back into destructive patterns. I hope I make good and educated decisions for my body that do not have anything to do with the stigma of looking like I do. I hope that my friends who own businesses are successful. I hope that my podcast is listened to, and my book gets read. I hope to write more poetry, and wear cozier socks.

I hope to make good financial choices, and to love with my whole heart all of the time. I hope it doesn't hurt so bad when I am not loved back. I hope that we as a species learn the difference between appreciating a culture and appropriating it. I hope that the United States pays reparations to black communities, and native nations. I hope the victims of Jeffrey Epstein see justice. I hope the current structure of the police is dismantled, and a system not descended from slave catchers, where equity is possible rises. I hope for adventures, and kisses, and good sex, and good meals. I hope to wrap my arms around the people I love and offer them shelter and comfort. I hope I get to see my mother. I hope to drink more water and less alcohol. I hope I learn how to sleep on a schedule.

I know that not all of this could happen, I know that so much of it is so far out of the realm of reality as to be laughable. But that's what New Years is about isn't it? Reckless optimism?

goals
Like

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.