Motivation logo

I hope there will be clowns?

I set out my chair, I have my balloon, Now where is my parade?

By Geoerl NilesPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

It's easy to understand the question when you know it's origin. In your mind you know, this is huge!

The step you are taking is the single most scary, wonderful, confusing thing you have ever done in your life. When you were deciding to get up the courage to walk out this mandate on your life, you were saying to yourself...

"There's going to be a parade, or maybe fireworks!"

But then you find yourself wondering...

"...does anyone at least have a sparkler?"

Second thoughts come when things get quiet...

This is all a bit over dramatic, I know, but I just want you to understand that you are not alone if you are having some serious second thoughts about following your dream. After all, if people just understood the kind of guts it took to make the decision to follow your dreams they could not help but throw a party for you, right? But instead, crickets. Second thoughts come when things get quiet. It's up to us to silence the voices of the critics (or crickets) and choose to only listen to the voice of hope and encouragement.

Now, don't misunderstand me, there are people in our inner circle who will absolutely get it. They are the ones cheering for you all along. They are the ones that threw a party for you when you didn't really deserve one. They are the ones that celebrated graduating from preschool and they are the ones that called all the relatives when your first tooth fell out, or was knocked out, as the case may be, if you had a sister that accidentally hit you in the face with a bottle of soda. (no emotional scaring here!) The mothers, fathers, and spouses who have been your foundation in the shakiest of times. The best friends who know every detail of your life and still like you despite knowing them! These are the ones that you run to when all of the other voices are silent, or worse yet, far too loud.

I remember people giving advice and even wisdom while I was contemplating the choice...

"Do I follow my dreams or will I be content to simply have a really 'good' life?"

Who is the one that will speak life into your dreams...

Once the decision is made though, the voices are not as numerous, this is the point where you must decide, who are those people in your life you will choose to listen to? Who is the one that will speak life into your dreams, vision, and calling?

I was listening to an amazing man speak and he said these words...

1. "All growth is rewarded by pruning, all death is rewarded with new life."

2. "To give up everything in order to follow after the destiny on your life is to actually enter into a lifestyle of complete trust."

3. "It's a crosswalk into breakthrough" (Bill Johnson, Redding CA)

...make this dream into a reality

Here is a key I want to give to you as you continue to have faith in the road that is in front of you, You are far more able to accomplish this vision than anyone else. You are the only one uniquely qualified to make this dream into a reality, and you have far more support than you can see at this moment in time. You were born with a specific visionary IQ when it comes to your calling. It was sewn into the fabric of your DNA and only you can do it with the specificity that comes from you putting your hands on the wheel.

A lot of my work history has been on boats, passenger vessels, dinner boats, etc. and one thing I learned from the captains who had the most experience is this, you need to keep the boat in the channel. In any major river system there are markers to help you safely navigate the passage. An experienced captain will know where the channel is and keep the boat in it. A captain new to the river still has the ability to be safe simply by following the example laid out in front of him. Long before he ever put boat to water someone else sailed these waters and set out markers to help the next guy along.

I remember bringing my parents onto one of our voyages. After dinner, I took them up to the wheelhouse to visit with the captain. Captain Lowell asked my father if he wanted to take the wheel. Of course my dad was ecstatic, meanwhile captain turned around and started talking with my mom. I stood there surveying the scene with pride, proud that I could afford my parents this opportunity to be treated like special guests at my job. It was a night cruise and it was getting dark and I happened to look down at the depth reader just as it started to decrease in number. 20 ft. - 16 ft. - 12 ft. - 10 ft. - 8 ft... Suddenly it occurred to me that no one was watching my dad as he drove us straight towards the river bank. As calmly as I could muster I said...

"Uh... hey Cap. can you look at the depth gauge?"

He turned around and just as calmly said...

"Oh.. hey let's go this way!"

He took the wheel in one hand, even as my father still held on with both, and gently turned the rudder in order to avoid the rocks.

I tell you this story simply to say this, you will need guidance as you navigate these waters. If it were easy, everyone would be doing it, right?

We did not run the boat aground that night. Thankfully there was someone in the room that had experience and knowledge to help my dad recover in time not to crash. That may not always be the case for you and I, we might get a little too far left or a little too far right, but that's okay. I have faith that there is someone always around to help us straighten things out, when we ask. He will put you back on course and see you start again.

Now where is my parade? ...I hope there will be clowns!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Geoerl Niles

Artist, Writer and Family man!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.