Motivation logo

How To Reinvent Yourself In Five Steps

This post is called "How to Reinvent Yourself in Five Steps", but I'm not going to discuss how to change your identity

By Damian PetersPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

This post is called "How to Reinvent Yourself in Five Steps", but I'm not going to discuss how to change your identity. We often mistakenly believe that reinvention means changing our identity. No matter what, the core of who you are isn't going to change. How many times have your had to reinvent yourself or change how you see the world? While reinvention is not something new for most people, this time it is. Reinvention is simply changing your direction.

Many things have changed in 2020. Perhaps your job was made obsolete, or your salary was cut drastically. No matter where you are, you need to take stock and consider what next steps should you take. Do you want to do something different? It doesn't appear that you can take up another career, at least not for the foreseeable future. You will discover that you have so many options when you begin to reinvent yourself. You are more open to change and that is a positive thing.

2017 was the year I reinvented my self after a quarter-life crisis two years before. It took me two years for all of that to be sorted out. To find what I wanted and to re-access where I wanted. I realized that I had to change my course. It was no longer true that I had the things I thought I needed. It was like life had thrown me in the face. I began to question whether it was worth going through the motions rather than facing the hard truth. This was when I realized what I needed and what I needed. After that, I published my first book. My second book is now available on Amazon. If I hadn't done the reinvention, I wouldn't have done it.

Here are some ways you can reinvent your self.

Find your authentic self

Many people don't know who they are or what they want. You're not the only one. It was me. If you asked me five years ago if I had a personal growth blog, I would have laughed. Discovering your true self is the best thing. You can discover your true self and what you can do.

Writing in a journal is a great way to discover your true self. Write down everything you want to do, all the ideas you have that you couldn't think of and be open with yourself. You can feel emotions you have never felt before. This is a necessary step to be able to express yourself honestly. Perhaps you had a childhood dream, but forgot about it or lost interest because you thought it was stupid.

One thing you can do to reinvent yourself is to look at everything you desire. As a child, I dreamed of being an author. But it seemed too impossible. It's a dream I still have many years later. But, I wouldn't be able to do it if I hadn't reinvented myself.

Take chances

There is a distinction between risk that is calculated and risk that's not. Many people take calculated risks. Are you one of those people? Most of us would agree to that. When I started my entrepreneurial journey two years ago, I took a chance. It was not calculated. It was a process of reinventing myself that I knew I had to do.

It was frightening to say the very least. At times it felt like I didn't know what I was doing. I'm still trying to figure out my entrepreneurial journey. This was the most frightening part. I worried about what would happen if my attempts failed, and I often questioned my sanity. I was insane. Maybe, I lost my marbles. After all, I was familiar with the statistics about people who start their own businesses and it wasn’t very pretty. Is it possible to make money online? This question was something I asked myself often, and my family challenged my decision. I was familiar with the struggles of brick-and-mortar businesses as well as online business. Yet, here I was. However, taking chances is one step to reinventing yourself.

You will never be successful if you avoid taking any risk. There are always risks, but there is no guarantee. It's a blueprint that you can follow to make sure you succeed. These risks can be a hindrance to your growth. You don't have to be afraid to take on risks. It doesn't matter what it is, it will make you a better person. In life, I've learned that there is no guarantee. Sometimes you just have to get your feet wet and learn as you go.

Take action

You must take action to change your life. What is your dream job? What is your dream? Start a business, or move to a different country or city. You need to do whatever it is. The more you do it, the more confident and successful you will become. It was scary when I started my business. But I knew that this was what I needed to do.

The whole year was a mess. The list of problems included being sick, not having enough food money, and many other things. In November 2018, I decided to take risks and start my own business. The day is still vivid in my mind. I took a risk. It was a risk that changed my life. It was like a wake-up call for me. I felt more confident and assured of myself. I was a better version of me, I would declare. It was as if all the things that I thought I couldn't do, were actually possible.

This is not something I'm the only one to have experienced. Most people who create their own businesses or reinvent themselves agree with me. They become better versions themselves. This is your chance to make the next six months of this year better. This is your chance to make improvements in the areas that you are lacking and be a better version. However, you must take action. It is important to take action because you cannot change your course or move forward in your life without it.

Become flexible

Flexibility is another key ingredient in reinventing yourself. You must be patient but flexibility is a great way to get things done. What would be your rating of flexibility? Are you able to adapt to difficult situations and circumstances? This year has brought about many changes and has made you more who you are. This year may have tested your resilience and flexibility.

The window of certainty was opened. You are right now, and that is a blessing. One we take as a given. Each year is a blessing. Maybe you've learned to be flexible. It was necessary in this situation. You might have gained patience from the fact that many of us had to wait for the lockdown ended to stay at home.

Despite the fact that the world will never be the same again, it is not going to get any easier. Many things have changed. You need to be flexible in order to make the most of your life. It is important to decide what you want, and then go after it. Be patient and wait for things to work out. The reason most people give up online is because they give up too quickly. They give up before their efforts pay off. This should not be you. You should also know that sometimes our way of doing things isn't working and you have to pivot.

It is necessary to shift your direction and find something that works. Many people who set up an online business fail because they did not do it correctly. It's understandable why they quit. You can make next year better by being flexible and patient. It's not easy to reinvent yourself. However, if you are determined to reinvent yourself, you must do it.

Get out of your comfort zone

You might be already stepping outside of your comfort zone. You might be pushing yourself out of your comfort zone by taking the four steps I mentioned above. This is an important step. This step is crucial if you want to get out of your comfort zone. You may want to be successful but your habits aren't in line with your goals.

When I was trying to reinvent myself, one step I took was to get up earlier. This was something that I struggled with, so I began doing Facebook Lives. One step led to another. Your comfort zone protects us from being hurt. But if you want your life to be different, you have to make some changes in your habits. Push yourself to achieve your goals.

Habits are what we are. It is difficult to step out of your comfort zone. You will feel more confident and discover your true self by taking this step. There is so much potential in you, but you haven’t taken the leap out of your comfort zone to realize it. You aren't allowing yourself to fail or be vulnerable enough. To improve at something, you will often need to fail multiple times.

This is how you grow and become more.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.