Motivation logo

How To Get Out Of Creative Block

Advice from an artist to another artist

By ANTIPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
"Peaking"@anticlvtch

If you are reading this it's okay trust me you'll be fine. From one artist to another I know it is tough going into a creative drought or just plain and simple no will to create anymore. I have been there more times than I can count to be honest and maybe even come back to take my own medicine for a change when I go through the inevitable myself. Here are some tips I find helpful for when I'm going through an art drought.

Find The Root Of All Evil...(The source of your drought)

Once you get to the root of all evil then it will be a lot easier to get your mojo back. Find out what has you so unmotivated to create if it is something you can change than do anything you can to make it happen, if it is something you can't change like your likes decreasing or innactive followers or just the overall burning sensation to be "on top" you have to realize that your time will come and when it does it will be the right time in the meantime create your "mona lisa" a million times so that way when you do get discovered you will have more to show your new adoring audience!

Try Something New

As an artist I personally will tell you that once you pick up more than 1 style that making art is alot more easier making it alot more difficult to run into an art block. My preferred style of creating is with photoshop but recently I took a break from it to learn blender and have fallen in love with 3d art as a whole and even have pieces of my art tokenized on Rarible. Taking that break was definitely something I needed, try to step outside of your comfort zone as much as possible as an artist and always make the next piece you create completely different from the last one

Look Outside your niche

Your favorite artist should never be one that is in the same genre as you. Keeping a fresh and open mind is key as an artist especially when trying to look for inspiration. Try to find atleast 5 artists that you like that aren't in the same genre as you and keep up with their pages for example if you make illustrations try to look at a collage or render artist for inspiration and vice versa.

Have Fun....

Look I know we all get caught up in the art game and worrying about how our art looks at the end of the day but that isnt what art should be made for. For some of us its a means and a job and to others just a hobby but at the end of the day what we should all have in common is love for the overall craft. Have fun with every creation you make treat it more than a piece or just another picture that will collect dust in your art vault digitally or physically. Every picture you create should tell a deeper story or take the viewer to a completely different world in their minds because the fun in all of it is that a big part of art is what you see in your mind or the raw emotions pictures invoke. Try to create pieces with intense passion and don't forget to have fun doing it :)

Well those are 4 tips on how to get out of art drought, If you take nothing away from this atleast take away that you will eventually get through this, You are amazing and your art journey is far from over so don't get discouraged ending off on one of my quotes I like to say to myself in the mirror when I'm going through a bad block "You have gotten through all the other art blocks so hurry up and get out of this one" you are gonna be fine, take care

how to
2

About the Creator

ANTI

I run an art page @anticlvtch on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.