Motivation logo

How To Embrace Your Sensitivity And See It As A Strength

How To Embrace Your Sensitivity And See It As A Strength

By Sabin PaulPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
How To Embrace Your Sensitivity And See It As A Strength
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Some sensitive people feel they have to withdraw from the world in order to rummage through the layers of pain and find their faith and courage.

In a society of speed and efficiency, these feelings are often perceived as an impediment to productivity. They are not seen for what they are, but as internal signs of leadership that require attention in the present moment. The intensity of the experience varies according to the individual, which can make it confusing. Sensitive people are rough in a world full of agendas, processes, rules and numbers. Feelings and senses are immaterial, invisible, and easily dismissed by those who do not experience them in the same way.

I was born with sensitive empathy and a keen intuition. I took energy from the environment and other people. As a fun-loving, carefree child, I was struck by the tiny details of how everyone felt and the things around them that they felt.

One minute I laughed at the sight of an injured or struggling bee, then I stopped in my tracks and panicked because I didn't want to see it hurt. I dreaded being sensitive as an adult working in the corporate world. I felt like I was out of place and unlike other who seemed to let things roll away off their backs and concentrate on their own goals.

I felt that I had a personal problem, that I knew something was wrong with the project, that something was happening and that I wanted to change direction. It took days, weeks or even years for these things to come to light and prove me right. People regarded me as irrational, paranoid and difficult to get concrete evidence that something was true. I felt that things were important, down to the smallest detail, who brought a bagel to the next meeting.

For many years, I wished that sensitivity would not affect my other words, expressions, moods and intentions. I felt that my sensitivity was causing me pain and frustration.

I wasn't aware I was in a truck. Life would have been easier and less complicated if I had not been so sensitive.

I tried to suppress these feelings for a long time and went so far as to read books, attend workshops and acquire tools for self-improvement to reduce my sensitivity. I continued to feel overlooked and unappreciated, doubting my deep value and what I had to offer the world beyond productivity. Many of the personal praise I received - whether kind or compassionate - became meaningless to me, and I received nothing in return. But I was on a journey to learn how to do it better.

I came to not only accept my sensitivity, but to see it as a gift and use it to my advantage every day. Now I want to strengthen my sensitivity by encouraging my feelings to speak out.

They are best at putting themselves in the shoes of others and feeling their feelings. Sensors make you more aware of your words and actions and their impact on others. A solid foundation of self-confidence enables you to learn about yourself and how your environment reacts to you, so that you can adapt when needed. Not only the ability to respond to the sensitivity of others and adapt to the unique personalities and situations in which you find yourself, but also the feeling can help you on the way to happiness and personal fulfillment.

If one can grasp the abstract and the invisible, one has the ability to recognize hidden information. This gives you insights into problems that may not be on the surface, and allows you to find solutions that benefit you and those around you.

For example, I once called a client of a web designer I had never met before. He responded to my delay at an earlier meeting by saying I was talking to him in my car and not at my desk. Although I had never spoken to him before, I met him and told him not to be late.

I explained my position to her and filled in the blanks and she changed her tone. I waited until she was done, then asked her who she was and informed her about the design changes I was going to make. When she responded, the changes were a shock.

She apologised for her earlier reaction and said she was having a bad day. It was a situation where I could have gone in and looked at it superficially and reacted with anger, but instead I listened with a sense of empathy.

Compassion is one of the most underrated strengths of modern society. They have a deep capacity for compassion. The more compassionate you are towards others, the more you feel for those who are most devastated.

It is not linked to obvious characteristics or monetary success, but it can contribute to long-term personal success. Compassion requires components such as love and forgiveness to overcome setbacks and maintain personal and professional relationships.

They have a high emotional intelligence. Being sensitive to the feelings of others makes you caring, understanding and has a knack for sorting out complicated emotions. They are good at reading others and recognizing their feelings, which leads to better personal and professional relationships.

You are sensitive and in tune with the essence of who you are. Your feelings are the driving force behind your desires, needs and decisions in life, which means that you are not just going through the motions. You let yourself be guided by your heart. You are sensitive to subtle internal signs that help you to make decisions that feel right for you.

It is important to change the internal dialogue and to stop being ashamed of your feelings. Your feelings come for valid reasons, and they deserve your attention. It is easy to tell yourself that you should stop being sensitive for no reason, or that you feel that way because you hear things from others. But if you change your sensitivity, you can use it to help yourself and others.

The more gratitude you show for your gift of sensitivity, the more it will be to your advantage if you accept and understand it. Thank the universe that your sharp mind lives on and that you chose it. Trust the energy and the messages you receive.

When you feel something, you feel it for a reason. Your job is to find out what that reason is. If it is a reaction to something that has triggered you, it may indicate something that needs to be resolved before you can move forward in life. Nonsensical as your feelings may seem, respect them, honor them and explore them.

Do not react unless you understand the message or the lesson you have learned. Trust that your feelings will guide you to the next step on your journey. Set emotional and energetic boundaries with everything and everyone.

Pay close attention to how you feel and react. When one picks up on the feelings and moods of other peoples, it can become confusing and overwhelming over time. Your feelings are your own, and your energy should be influenced by someone else.

It helps to practice mindfulness and develop a consistent yoga and meditation practice so that you can see when you are being influenced by someone who is lacking energy. Remember that there will always be people who seem to come into conflict with you. Instead of expecting them to subside, it's fine to maintain your own emotional space and choose the energy you want. When your energy is affected by your environment, breathe deeply through your nose and exhale through your mouth.

When you feel the energy of anger, frustration or doubt in your space re-entering, close your eyes, take a deep breath and choose something else. If you are like me, you have a soft spot for others who have had painful experiences. Being a sensitive empathist probably brings you into the world to spread kindness and heal others. Whether you choose a career or something else crosses your path, you probably have the ability to connect with someone on a deep level and help ease their pain. Don't let that skill go to waste.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.