Motivation logo

HOW TO DRINK YOUR TEA?

in the most beautiful cup you have

By Annaelle ArtsyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
HOW TO DRINK YOUR TEA?
Photo by Hofmann Natalia on Unsplash

WHAT DO YOU DO WHEN LIFE GETS HARD ON YOU?

WHEN EVERYTHING THAT YOU DO BRINGS NO RESULTS?

… When you are demotivated?

Well, I just came across a lovely story about how we can approach hard life situations. It was originally told by Father Arsenie Boca, one of the greatest’s confessors Romania had, who left behind an impressive spiritual heritage. One of the most beautiful spoken words reflects in the cup of tea story, that was meant to help the ones in suffering, to comfort them.

Here is the story that Father Arsenie Boca told:

“A family went once on a trip in England and visited an antique shop as they were planning on buying something special for their 25th wedding anniversary. Both the husband and the wife enjoyed antiques and clay objects, especially tea cups. They noticed an exceptional cup and said, “Can we see that cup? I’ve never seen anything so beautiful.”

While the lady gave them what had demanded, the cup of tea began to speak: – You cannot understand. I wasn’t from the beginning a cup of tea. Once, I was just a lump of red clay. The master took me and rolled me, beat me hard, repeatedly tormented me, and I cried, “Do not do that!” “I do not like!” “Leave me alone!” He only smiled and said softly: “Not yet.” Then, ah! I was sitting on a wheel and was spun, spun, spun. “Stop! Dizzy! I am dizzy! “I cried.

But the master only nodded and said, quietly: “Not yet.” He turned me, He kneaded and moulded me, hit me up and I obtained a form and then He put me in the oven. I never felt so warmly! I cried, I fought and I hit the door … “Help! Get me out of here! “I could see Him through an opening and I could read His lips, while shaking His head from side to side:” Not yet.”

When I thought that I will not stand another minute, the door opened. Carefully, He pulled me out and put me on the shelf … I started to cool off. Oh, I felt so good! “Well, so much better”, I thought. But after I cooled off, He took me again, He brushed and painted me everywhere … smells were horrible. I thought I was suffocating. “Oh, please, stop, stop!” I cried. He just nodded and said, “Not yet!” Then suddenly put me back in the oven. But now was not the first time. It was twice as hot and I felt that I would suffocate. I asked. I insisted. I shouted. I cried … I was convinced that I would not escape! I was ready to quit. Just then the door opened and He took me out and again put me on the shelf, where I cooled and waited and waited, wondering: “What is He going to do next?”

An hour later, He gave me a mirror and said, “Now look at you.” And I looked. “That’s not me; I couldn’t … It’s beautiful. I am beautiful! spoke softly the cup of tea. “I know you were hurt when run, troubled, hit, spun, but if I would have left you alone, you’d be dry. I know you got dizzy when I turned the wheel, but if I had stopped, you would have lost pieces of yourself, you would have crumbled. I know it hurt and it was very hot and uncomfortable in the oven, but I had to put you there, otherwise you would have cracked. I know they did not smell good when I brushed and I stained all over, but if I had not done that, you’d never really hardened. You would have never glowed in life.

If I wouldn’t have got you for the second time in the oven, you would have not survived much, because the cure did not take. You’re a finished product now. You’re what I had in mind the first time I started working with you. “

Moral of the story is this, as stated by the confessor Arsenie Boca: “God knows what to do with all of us. He is the potter and we are His clay. He will mould us and make us susceptible to the pressures required for that perfect work to do good and acceptable and His holy will. If life seems difficult and you are hit, beaten and pushed almost mercilessly; when your world seems to be spinning out of control; you feel that you are in a terrible suffering, when life seems dire, make yourself a tea and drink it in the nicest cup, sit down and think about what you read here and then discuss some of your troubles with the Divine Potter. “

Feel free to share this article with your friends in need

P.S. : Thank you for taking the time to read this, and here’s to your journey of growth !

self help
1

About the Creator

Annaelle Artsy

Me, myself & I

Slow living in the reading

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.