Motivation logo

How to discover your purpose in life ?

Find your Uniqueness

By Michel Tetchi Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

“ The waitress is out of place,” John said to his wife Cathy when the young lady left after serving their food at the restaurant.

“ Why do you say that? Maybe she is tired. It’s not easy to be a waitress in a busy restaurant,” Cathy replied.

“ No, Cathy is more than that. I have been watching her. I can tell she is not fit for this job.”

“ How can you help her?” Cathy asked her husband.

“ We can talk to her,” John suggested.

When the waitress brought the bill, John gave her a generous tip and said, “ My wife and I would like to invite you for a coffee.”

“ We just want to have a conversation with you, ” Cathy added.

“ Did I do something wrong?” the waitress asked, scared.

“ No, don’t worry. You’re fine,” Cathy said.

“ I’m very busy. I have a second job. I don’t have time. But I will take my break in five minutes. If you don’t mind, we can talk.”

“ How long is your break?” John asked.

“ Fifteen minutes,” the waitress responded.

“ That will be enough, ” John said.

When it was time for her break, the waitress removed her apron, wore a tee-shirt and black jeans with sneakers, and invited John and Cathy to follow her outside. They sat on a bench across the parking lot.

“ How long have you been working at this restaurant, Anita?” Cathy asked, calling the waitress by her name.

“ About six years, ” she replied.

“ I bet you don’t like the job,” John said.

“ How do you know? I dread coming to work. I’m just here to make a living,” Anita said frankly.

“ Have you ever heard about the word purpose?” John asked.

“ Yes. But I don’t know how to find mine, ” Anita replied.

“ I like your honesty,” Cathy admired.

“ Your purpose is in you. It’s an integral part of you. Now let me give you some clues to help you find your purpose. Anita, what makes you angry? Every human being was born to solve a problem. The thing that makes you angry is the problem you were born to solve. Another way to find your purpose is to ask yourself: what can I do for free? In other words, what would you do even if you didn’t get paid? The third question you can ask yourself is about passion. What’s your passion? What’s the thing that you love to do? Anita, you are more than your two jobs. You are loaded with gifts, talents, and abilities aligned with your purpose.

Anita, I want you to ponder these questions: Who teaches the fish how to swim? Who teaches the bird how to fly?”

“ Nobody. They do it naturally,” Anita answered.

“ Good. If you pay attention to your life, you will notice that there are certain things that you do naturally. You are designed in a particular way. Your personality, your creativity, your wisdom, and your uniqueness are designed so that you can fulfill your purpose.”

“ Can someone choose his purpose?” Anita asked.

“ No. Purpose is not a career or a job. You don’t choose your purpose. You discover it. You won’t be fulfilled in life unless you find your purpose, ” John explained.

“ Anita, what do you love to do?” Cathy asked.

“ I love to work with my hands. I love to fix stuff. I’m happy when performing maintenance repair.”

“ Why don’t you work in a mechanic shop or do plumbing ?” John asked.

“ Whenever I repair stuff, people laugh at me. They said handy work is for men. I was so embarrassed that I quit the job and decided to do “ woman stuff,” Anita replied.

“ You have let people put you in a box. Now you live unhappy, frustrated,” Cathy said.

“ Anita, it’s not too late. Go back to what you love to do. Don’t listen to naysayers. Be driven by your purpose, not by what people think or say,” John motivated her.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Michel Tetchi

I'm a blogger, storyteller, and author. Find more about me @ www.micheltetchi.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.