Motivation logo

How to be Healthy

Ways to Improve your life

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Life is funny. We get up we go to work, we earn money, and at the end of our lives, we die. It does not have to be that disappointing though. We can do so much more than we think we are capable of. I will be honest I am so exhausted after work that all I want to do is sit in my comfy, large spinning chair and watch Netflix or people watch from my window. However, that is not a healthy way to live life. Sure, I do enjoy it and we should do the things we enjoy right? Right. So, you might be asking me, what is the healthy thing you do that keeps you going? Well my dear audience and readers, I love to dance. I like turning up that music that sounds like trash to my parents and grooving in my room, sometimes while cleaning. I sing the lyrics out loud so much so that my next-door neighbours are shutting their windows tight. There is something fun and relaxing about moving your body to shake it up by Taylor Swift while reaching for that last spec of dust with your swifer duster. Or I like to watch choreographed videos of dance and then copying them to my best ability. I am a huge fan of Matt Steffanina Choreography because it challenges me to move more, as well as Kyle Hanagami. They are both superb choreographers and you feel cool doing the moves and not silly at all. Sure, you can dance silly if you want and get a good laugh from everyone around you, but dance makes me feel good about myself.

Lately, it has not been all about dance, it has been all about badminton. Recently, my fiance and I have rediscovered badminton. It was a sport I enjoyed in gym class. If I am being honest though, it was the only sport in gym class that I enjoyed and I did not have that pressure to be the best. My sisters and I would sometimes play it in our backyard, but then at one point or another we would get angry at each other for losing the birdie and we would be without any game. My friend in junior high school was part of the team in badminton, I tried out for the team as well, and to be honest, I was not good at it. My fiance, on the other hand, was on the badminton team and he knows how to serve the birdie in many creative ways that make me laugh.

Aha! another way to be healthy is through laughter, laughter makes your stomach muscles work and thus makes you lose a few calories and by a few calories, I mean that by laughing 15 minutes at a time you can burn from 10 to 40 calories. Also, it is scientifically proven that laughter makes people happier and healthier. So, I am always surrounding myself with people that can make me laugh and smile, this is where my fiance comes in. Another thing that makes me happy and healthy is going out on walks after dinner. It is a nice and serene presence to be in, you take a walk in your neighbourhood and you can see the yards of your neighbours and wave hello to them across the street (because social distancing), you can see couples taking their dogs out for a walk, and you silently judge them if their dogs are well behaved, and you can see the random teenagers who are on their phones hoping to see them crash into a stop sign, maybe that's just me, but I enjoy my after-dinner walk. I sometimes take my own dog, if he is feeling up to it and we walk around the block because then he looks up at me like "why are you making me do this" and we have to turn back around. Biking is another one of my hobbies, I like to feel that rush of the wind howling through my ears as my bike rolls down the hill. I would sometimes bike to school and once I got there I would feel the rush of endorphins and I would be ready to study and work hard. Days, that I would take the bus, I felt so down and drained of energy, it's interesting to see what the body can do. I enjoyed the bike ride home, except when it started to rain because then I would rush home and I would get rain on my face and it's hard when you don't wear glasses. I would feel like I already achieved a lot that day because I biked 10 km to school and the rest of my day would go great. There are a lot of physical activities that I enjoy doing and I hope that you have a good physical activity that you enjoy doing.

how to
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.