Motivation logo

How I made $3.28 writing on Vocal

That’s right, and I’m bragging about it

By Reija SillanpaaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
How I made $3.28 writing on Vocal
Photo by Yvonne Assen on Unsplash

Yes, you read that right. So far I have made $3.28 in my highest earning month (excluding tips) and I'm proud of it. This month I want to double double that.

Who am I kidding? I don’t want to double it. It's not enough to double or even quadruple my previous monthly best. I want to smash it and become one of the top earners.

Sometimes I read stories where writers claim they are not here for the money. Who’s kidding who now?

Everyone is here for the money. If you only write for fun or for therapeutic purposes, you wouldn’t publish it for all the world to see. You would be happy to write in your journal or diary and hide it in your bedside table’s drawer.

But those of us who publish our work, of course we hope to make money from our stories.

But It’s Not All About The Money

No, it isn’t all about the money.

It’s also about getting your work in front of an audience. Albeit a small audience when you begin your writing career. It’s about connecting with other writers and building relationships. It’s about learning what works and what doesn’t.

The statistics are great for seeing which stories worked and which flopped.

It's heartbreaking when a story flops, but each flop is a lesson and a chance to improve. There is no point to dwell on them, but to focus on the positives. The stories that worked.

I get so excited every time someone has read my work. And that exitement is doubled when someone presses that little heart that tells me they liked it. And when, I get a tip from a reader. I feel loved. Someone liked my writing enough to give me some money for it.

Receiving likes and tips encourages me to carry on. Even when, like last month, I only earned $0.77.

When someone sends me a little love in form of a tip or a like, it tells me that there are people who enjoy my work. I just haven't found most of them yet and need to work on reaching my wider audience.

Success Takes Time

Rome wasn’t built in a day and all that. And yes, for most of us, success takes time and hard work. If you are anything like me, you will have had more flops than successes when you first began.

But I learnt from those flops. I’m still learning from them, and I still keep learning from them in the future. I keep working on my craft, building my voice and my credibility as a writer.

There have been months where I have even less than last month. Twice I have earnt only 11 cents.

So when I made £3.28 in a month, I celebrated. As little as it was, I had made money from my writing and it was worth a celebration. I kept it modest though, matching the modest income.

Can You Make An Income From Writing On Vocal?

Yes, I believe you definitely can. Why else would I still be here, typing away at seven in the morning on my day off when I could be in bed?

I know only a small percentage make enough to call it an income.

And I have seen claims that only select people have their stories pop up on the homepage. But if that is the case, then it’s because those people work hard and write well. My aim is to be one of those people.

I'm aiming high, because it’s possible for anyone to make it into the top Vocal earner's club.

Yes, it is.

What’s The Plan Of Action?

The same as it has been this far. Why fix something that ain’t broke?

I’m sure there will be plenty of people who will react to the statement above with:

‘But you are only making a few dollars a month.’

That’s true, for now.

I’m still relatively new to this all, and I have only been writing and publishing more consistently for the last two months. Give it time and I know my results will improve.

I believe hard work, consistency, good writing and patience are the key.

I’m already working hard, I’m publishing more often and I keep improving my writing the more I write.

And I have patience. Plenty of it. It is only a matter of time until I find success.

The same applies to you. Celebrate your successes, even the small ones, and keep at it. The more you write, the better you get and success fill follow.

goals
5

About the Creator

Reija Sillanpaa

A wise person said, "Be your own audience". Therefore, I write fiction, poetry and about matters important and interesting to me. That said, I warmly welcome you into my audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.