Motivation logo

Heads They Win. Tails You're Gonna Lose.

But I Don't See It Like That

By Connor WarmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Today is about nothing really in particular and I feel like sometimes those are my very best writing days. No topic, no idea, no agenda. Just me and my free-flowing thoughts.

I've had a lot of people reach out to me and say that they enjoy these writings. That's awesome! Who knew being yourself and honest about things could be so powerful and impactful?!

Anyway, I'm working on a book.

As in a real hard copy printed out hold it in your hand type of book. I've had the idea forever and I thought I should probably put it into action now. It's not going to be a picture book or an autobiography or anything like that. It's going to be a collection of thoughts and ideas from me over the past couple of years. I believe it will be cool to see what 23/24-year old Connor thought a few years from now and see how much I have or haven't changed. The collection of thoughts and ideas will come from old journals, notes, and even things I've written about here. Most people wait until they're old and accomplished to write a memoir on their life and that's cool. I enjoy reading those types of books for sure! But what if some of those same people wrote when they were in their 20's? When they were actually in the start-up or building phase? How cool would that be? Imagine if Elon Musk or Phil Knight or Jeff Bezos wrote a book when they were broke(or damn near close) in their 20's about their ideas and how they viewed the world? I'm sure we'd get a much different perspective on life/the world from them than what they write about in hindsight.

Now, don't take this the wrong way, I'm not saying in any way that I'm the next Elon Musk or Phil Knight(I can hardly tie my own shoes let alone create them). I don't think that at all. What I do think is that I'm an ideas guy. I'm a dreamer, a thinker. A guy who wears his heart on his sleeve and has no problem going at everything he does at a thousand miles an hour without thinking about what could(and probably will) go wrong. My reckless approach to life is part of the reason why I am where I am today.

But what's life without risk? What's life without adventure? What's to stop us from rolling the dice every now and again? One of my favorite quotes/sayings is from a famous Poison song, "Fallen Angel". One of the lyrics, in the beginning, goes, "Sometimes you can't choose. It's like heads they win, tails you're gonna lose." Now, anyone with common sense or even half a brain would understand that these odds are 100% against you. It's literally saying that you are going to lose no matter what. But I don't see it like that. I see it as a thrill, an adventure, a rollercoaster ride. And honestly, the people I mentioned earlier don't look at it from a common-sense standpoint either. 99% of the time common sense doesn't create companies. It doesn't create brands that have lasting/global impacts that change the world. Common sense thinking gets you everywhere and nowhere in life. Sure, it can provide you with a comfortable job and a comfortable living, which is great. It can provide you with a nice 401K and a nice office chair to sit-in, sure. But it doesn't provide you with a thrill and it doesn't provide you with an adventure. That's what I'm seeking. I want my life to be a wild rollercoaster ride and I want to share it with as many people as possible.

So yeah, I'm writing a book.

GET AFTER IT.

goals
1

About the Creator

Connor Warman

A CrossFit Coach and Podcaster's perspective on life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.